Direct Disk Access AV for Vista?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by acr1965, Dec 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I have Vista 32 bit basic on my laptop and Kaspersky AV. I have heard Kaspersky does not have DDA with Vista. Is this true? Also, is this a security issue?

    If so, is no DDA for AV's in Vista the norm or are there other av's that have it?

    FWIW- I have ZA Pro and Windows Defender also enabled with SAS and MBAM for on demand.

    thanks
     
  2. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    SAS uses DDA on vista
     
  3. guest

    guest Guest

    DDA and DDA protection is different.

    SAS is using DDA for malware erase
    SAS hasnt got DDA Protection


    it is true. Kaspersky in Vista has cripped hips function.

    You can use OnlineArmor,Outpost Firewall,Comodo(DDA protection must be enabled-manual-),Theatfire
     
  4. Baz_kasp

    Baz_kasp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    London

    Not true (regarding DDA)..but yes, HIPS has less functionality in Vista vs XP.

    Kaspersky has DDA protection in HIPS in vista (they call it low level disk access) (KIS only, part of HIPS)

    The rootkit scanner also uses DDA for rootkit scanning and detection under vista. (KAV and KIS)
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2008
  5. guest

    guest Guest

    maybe true for new version (8.0.0.506)
    i remember, it hasnt got when i try it.

    this is bothersome
     
  6. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    ZAPRO OSFirewall should nicely cover the miss HIPS in VISTA KAV for example, keylogging...

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.