Differential Backups

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Skipper, Jan 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Skipper

Skipper Registered Member

I'm a newbie to TI so please bare with me. I recently upgraded from TI 9 to TI 10. I use an external USB hard drive for my TI backup files. I have a full system backup that is scheduled for weekly Differential backups. I also have a backup of Documents and Settings that has daily Differntial backups at shutdown. I noticed that I now have a list of backups numbered (2) through (6) under the original Docs and Settings backup. Question: For example, if restoration of Docs and Settings only requires the original and latest Differential backups, is it safe to delete (in my case) Differential backups (2) though (5) keeping just the original and no (6)?

2. Menorcaman

Menorcaman Retired Moderator

Hello Skipper,

Don't know whether it still applies to TI 10.0 but there was a problem with TI 9.0 in that you only needed the full image plus one differential in order to carry out a restore but required the full and all differentials if you wanted to merely validate the image.

Regards

3. Skipper

Skipper Registered Member

Thanks for the fast reply. TI 10 has the same "glitch" as the validate glitch in TI 9 as you mentioned. I deleted all of my Docs and Sets backups from the external drive and ran a full backup; scheduling it to run everyday at PC shutdown. At the first try it only took 10 min. runtime for a complete backup. So...I've decided to not go for any Incremental or Differential Backups. Is there anything wrong with this concept?

Thanks,

Skipper

4. CatFan432

CatFan432 Registered Member

Skipper,