Difference in V3.0 and 2.7?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by dmcdaniel, Nov 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dmcdaniel

    dmcdaniel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Can someone tell me the main differences in V3 vs V2.7? I understand the command line is supposed to be a little superior but what are the major changes?

    Thanks,
    Derek
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    If you have v3 already installed , you'll notice some of the improvements mentioned there. I don't have v3 at the moment but will tell you some which come to my mind at the moment :

    Better interface
    Much much better default settings
    Improved cleaning (the product is supposed to clean malware better) but detection is the same
    Cleaning made more automatic by default
    IMON (a.k.a Winsock layer protection) removed = change to local proxy to scan mail/web traffic
    No matter the default settings (all the options can be configured as per preferance/necessity)
    Added an option to import/export settings
    Better help file and better way to contact Technical Support
    All the scans are performed by just one program (the kernel)
    ...
     
  3. Stijnson

    Stijnson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    Paranoia Heaven
    IMON removed? Doesn't that make the program weaker? I thought that IMON was a welcome addition to NOD32. How is internet traffic monitored in V3.0?
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    IMON (a.k.a Winsock layer protection) removed = change to local proxy to scan mail/web traffic
     
  5. Stijnson

    Stijnson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    Paranoia Heaven
    Can you explain what this means in layman's terms?
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Ah , difficult task .

    The ESET product makes all the HTTP/POP3 traffic pass through the eset kernel (ekrn.exe) so that it is being scanned for threats . The difference is that the ekrn.exe is not stuck at the Winsock layer , like NOD32 v2's IMON DLL are
     
  7. Stijnson

    Stijnson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    Paranoia Heaven
    Thanks for your reply. It's a bit clearer now.
    Doesn't this affect download speeds (usenet) and internet traffic? I've read some posts of people who experience connection problems after upgrading to v3.0.
    Is it possible to use, for example, Newsleecher (for downloading from usenet) and open webpages with Firefox or IE7 at the same time?
     
  8. rogervernon

    rogervernon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    289
    Still waiting for a definitive answer as to whether V3 can scan ports 995 & 465, for SSL mail?
     
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    You are welcome!

    Anything that scans the traffic (by passes your internet and your machine) does affect download/upload speed but in ESET's case this is not that noticable

    Yes , there is no reason not to
     
  10. extratime

    extratime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    If the download speed is impacted is it possible to not use this "local proxy"?

    In 2.7 I have IMON switched off because for me the impact is too much. I haven't tried 3.0 yet, partly because I am worried about this "local proxy" feature.
     
  11. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Sure , just disable the Web protection
     
  12. DasFox

    DasFox Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,825
    You guys forgot to mention the engine scans twice as fast. :D

    To me that is a BIG plus! :cool:
     
  13. virkelie

    virkelie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Posts:
    77
    I too only understand layman speak.

    What's wrong if the ekm.exe is stuck at the winsock layer?
     
  14. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    There is a possiblity of conflicts with other programs that also attempt to use the winsock layer although I haven't seen that problem myself.
     
  15. Stijnson

    Stijnson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    Paranoia Heaven
    This only applies to v2.7 then as I understand it? V3.0 works differently (local proxy)?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.