Did Avira do this ?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Fly, Feb 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Currently I'm testing Eset Smart Security version 6.

    While not ideal, as a matter of convenience I installed this software on a known clean (??) image that contained just the Windows XP OS, drivers, a few basic safe programs and a previous installation of the Avira security suite (trial or promotional) which I uninstalled.

    After a 'smart scan' I noticed the following infections: ApnIC[1].0 Win32Bundled.Toolbar.Ask (potentially unsafe application) and Dc21.dll/same description. Avira used to detect the ASK software until (??) they started to include ASK software themselves.

    Since I was surprised I repeated the same process using the same old image.
    Same results.

    While it is not impossible that I was infected through other means, I can't think of any way that would have happened. I know for a fact that I scanned that old image with Avira and it never found any ASK stuff !
    People here on Wilders used to discuss files associated with ASK which Avira put on their computer. As far as I recall, I never could find any of those files.

    So, what do you think ? Did Avira put those files on my computer ?
     
  2. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,124
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Avira comes bundled with Ask Toolbar now.
     
  3. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    I'd say yes, but it's up to you to label it as an "infection", since as you can see it's rated just as a PUA by your current solution.
     
  4. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    552
    I would be curious to know the location (Program Files/Avira?) of this detection and whether or not there is an entry in programs and features or add/remove programs and what the name of the entry is.

    ask.com or avira SearchFree toolbar?

    Without installing avira I don't know what the exact name would be.

    I would also use avira's uninstall utility to see if it would help clean up any avira leftovers.

    -http://www.avira.com/en/support-download-avira-antivir-removal-tool/product/-
     
  5. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    was it avira free you were using??
     
  6. er34

    er34 Guest

    Fly, are you asleep? Where were you this period?

    AVIRA comes bundled with Ask is such an old story that has been discussed all over the web so many times for so long - including in many threads here @ Wilderssecurity in this subforum.

    Note the name ESET gives -> potentially unsafe application -> not virus, not trojan, not spyware or malware.
     
  7. ght1

    ght1 Guest

    Well said, I don't recommend Avira Free any more. ;)
     
  8. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I used the Avira security suite, either a promo or trial version.

    As I recall there was an option to install the ASK toolbar, but I declined.

    Since I uninstalled Avira without using an uninstall tool and deleted temporary files, perhaps I'm just a bit too paranoid/ Eset is a bit too vigilant ?
    Still, it's odd.

    Location according to the scan log: C:\Documents and Settings\....\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\...\ApnIC[1].0

    and

    C:\RECYCLERS\....\Dc21.dll

    Thoughts ?
     
  9. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    The issue was with Avira free ? Even so, I may have seen an ASK opt-in, but I did opt out. Or so I believed.
     
  10. er34

    er34 Guest

    The issues is with any AVIRA product.

    As per the other information you provided:

    The first one is in the Internet temporary files - most likely some uninstaller left its stuff there (you need to clear more often your browser cache) and the second one is something that you deleted - it is in the recycle bin.
     
  11. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    What nonsense.

    Avira does not push the toolbar on you.It comes with the toolbar installer,so its entirely up to you as to whether you install it or not.

    Its a clear choice,but it certainly does not install the toolbar when avira is being installed.:)
     
  12. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    693
    Location:
    Hogwarts.
    Those files are definitely left by Avira, no it doesn't install the toolbar but it adds 3 ask files in the avira folder.
     
  13. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Cant the ask files be simply deleted.o_O
     
  14. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    693
    Location:
    Hogwarts.
    If you delete then whilst Avira is still installed it simply re-downloads them. They can be deleted if Avira is uninstalled yes.
     
  15. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    I see.

    Thanks.:)
     
  16. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    What you say is true if you choose custom install.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2013
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.