Dial-up w\ 2k question.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ThunderZ, Feb 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Has been a long time since I used dial-up. Right now feeling dumber then a box of rocks. :p Have a Friend who`s PC we will assume for now is free of malware. The problem is, it is dialing out on its` own. I remember a setting somewhere that should\will stop this behavior. :rolleyes: Can someone point me in the right direction? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,763
    Location:
    Texas
    I've never used W2K but the only setting that comes to mind is Internet Explorer, Internet options, connections, never dial a connection.
     
  3. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.


    I do believe you win the prize. :D Thanks Ronjor. That should do the trick, I believe that is pretty standard since Win 98.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2007
  4. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    This may help a little, as a stop gap measure, not storing the log on password might help some. I think you are right, there is a way to set it, but I can't remember it either!


    -HandsOff
     
  5. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.


    Thanks HandsOff. My friend states he does not store the PW. However, if it were a malicious dialer then I do not think it would matter since it would not be dialing the ISP number. Not sure about that though as I never have had to deal with one. I never did ask if it actually ever connected since he will hear his modem initiate and go kill the connection before it completes.
     
  6. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Yes, if malware it could be dialing the infamous 1-900 numbers and so on, you are correct!
     
  7. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    He totally panicked :eek: when I explained to him about dialers. Managed to calm him down a bit I think. I had just done a fresh install of 2k. AVG free\ early vers. of ZA free and Cyberhawk on it. Unless he did something really "wrong" I am betting it is just the setting that Ronjor pointed to at that he`s clean.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.