DI-624M Super G with MIMO Wireless Router Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by reckliss, Feb 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. reckliss

    reckliss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    I have heard about hardware firewalls in routers and was wandering if I have one and how should i go about setting it up. I am completely lost on how to do this.
     
  2. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    From the website,

    Security features include an advanced firewall using both NAT and Stateful Packet Inspection (SPI), as well as Advanced Parental Controls to monitor and maintain Internet usage. Combine these features with full System Logging, Static DHCP, VPN pass-through, and Network Diagnostic Tools to ensure a fully protected network.

    Sounds like you do have a hardware firewall which is good news. You'll have to read the manual to learn how to use it.
    If you don't have a hard copy you can d/l a softcopy from here
    http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=385&sec=0
     
  3. reckliss

    reckliss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    I dont get what to put into the range, destination, etc.
     
  4. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hello reckliss, Welcome to Wilders.

    I presume you are refering to the internet access rules within the router. These rules would depend on the applications you use and the internet access they require. The basic rules for a router are to "Allow all out" "Block all inbound connections".

    If you can give more detail to your question, I am sure we can help more.

    Regards,
    Stem
     
  5. reckliss

    reckliss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    What I am saying is I have no clue how to set up the firewall on my router and the manual doesn't help. lol
     
  6. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi reckliss,
    The basic config of the router will protect from inbound connections (which is the main concern)

    Have you a software firewall on your system?
     
  7. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    If your router is anything like mine it should have some pre-defined settings like low,med,high or something of that nature.

    Like this,
     

    Attached Files:

  8. reckliss

    reckliss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    8
  9. reckliss

    reckliss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Any Ideas?
     
  10. reckliss

    reckliss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    lol I wish my router had security levels instead of this manual stuff...any help would be appreciated.
     
  11. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    reckliss,
    As I mentioned, the rules required will depend on the applications you have installed and what internet access they require.

    Also, (again), Have you a software firewall on your system?
     
  12. reckliss

    reckliss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    No firewall just AVG Antispyware and NOD32
     
  13. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    NOD32 only updates via HTTP, so only a need to allow:-

    Outbound TCP local ports 1024-4999 remote port 80

    AVG Antispyware is possibly the same. Unless connection is through HTTPS, so a outbound to remote port 443 may be needed.

    Outbound TCP local ports 1024-4999 remote port 443
     
  14. reckliss

    reckliss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    what about apps like steam aim xfire and mozilla?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.