DETEKT .Gov Spyware Detector

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Nov 20, 2014.

  1. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    d1.png

    Tried it, but after about 10 mins & nothing happening, i closed it down ! Maybe you might have more response ?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2014
  2. Veeshush

    Veeshush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    643
    Here's its Github page: https://github.com/botherder/detekt
    I tried it out on two system, it took a little over an hour on each of them. I came up clean.
     
  3. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    It says 30mins on the web site for a typical scan
     
  4. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    "You are connected to the internet"
    then
    "You need to run this as Administrator"
    then
    "You are running an unsupported version of Windows". (8.1?!?!)

    Great tool. Not. Funny thing, this would be a great honeypot program to snatch up all of the paranoid people out there, then use it to INSTALL Govt. spyware on their machine. Like how my mortgage company put a button on their web page that said "Having trouble paying your mortgage?", when you clicked it, it redirected to an invalid page, but then a few weeks later they sold my mortgage to a high-risk firm despite me never missing a payment, and having 825 credit.. I clicked the button because I was nosy to see where it led, but I got snagged in their honeypot. (I refinanced within a year anyway, halving my interest AND pay off time)
     
  5. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,508
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Windows 8.1 64bit is currently not supported because the tool appears to be unable to complete the execution and just goes on forever.
     
  6. Frank the Perv

    Frank the Perv Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    882
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ridiculous.
     
  7. Veeshush

    Veeshush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    643
    Nah, I think it's a neat idea. It's just in early development at the moment.
     
  8. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
  9. rhabdomantist

    rhabdomantist Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Canada
  10. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
  11. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,085
    https://resistsurveillance.org/
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 22, 2014
  12. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Nothing found for me, as expected.
     
  13. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,085
  14. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
  15. Veeshush

    Veeshush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    643
    Detekt v1.8 takes less than 5min for a scan on my two systems. That's a big improvement considering the version released a week ago I tried took an hour for me (I believe it was 1.0). :thumb:
     
  16. AutoCascade

    AutoCascade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Posts:
    624
    Location:
    United States
    It only took a couple of minutes and it found nothing.
     
  17. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,873
    When I ran v1.7 the other day, I got "Nothing Found". However, when I ran it the first time, it didn't generate the log as expected. It was a zero log. I did get a log the second time around when I ran the utility. Probably, because the first time I allowed it, when I got the Zemana Anti_Logger popup, but the second time, I blocked it.

    ScreenShot_Detekt_v1.7_09.gif ScreenShot_Detekt_v1.7_10.gif
     
Loading...