Detection Overrides issue

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by CloneRanger, Oct 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Hi, tried to run 2 files, having 1st excluded them from being scanned.

    det-ova.gif

    But despite that, FB PSOL keeps scanning them.

    no.gif

    No matter how many attempts i made, i could not get PSOL to stop scanning them. Therefore i could not even try to run them.

    Why is that ?

    TIA
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Prevx will still scan them, it will just ignore the detections to prevent them from being detected as there are risks of abuse associated with never actually looking at the files.
     
  3. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ PrevxHelp

    Thanks for that. The thing is, PSOL will NOT let me attempt to even run those files, as every time i try PSOL intervenes by stopping them launching, & then scanning !

    Is it because they are .DLL & .SYS files ? Because i was able to successfully run a brand new .EXE today abtde.exe the Anti-Bundestrojaner App from Steganos Software with NO problems & NO scanning from PSOL took place !
     
  4. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    By the way, i just tried shutting down ALL of PSOL's protection, & it still scans them ?
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It shouldn't still scan them when shut down. How are you determining PSO scanning the files?
     
  6. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    That's what i thought.

    Lika dis

    sc2.gif
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Shutting down the protection won't affect it scanning the files (on-demand scans will always take place if you want them to). I'm not seeing how it could interfere with the execution of the programs, however. It might be worth sending a scan log into report@prevxresearch.com so that we can take a look.
     
  8. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Originally Posted by PrevxHelp

    They "seem" to contradict each other ? Can you elaborate please :thumb:
     
  9. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I thought you were referring to realtime scanning - that won't take place when protection is disabled but it will still perform on-demand scans as wanted.
     
  10. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    I was/am.

    It seems to be ?

    I wasn't doing any ODS's, just double clicking those 2 files, not at the same time, to try & run them.

    EDIT

    If you mean by OD what i did = Understood, but i still would expect/want Sutdown to = SHUTDOWN, otherwise it isn't !

    If you mean by OD = ight click scan, that is Not what i did.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2011
  11. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I'm confused o_O

    Could you try installing SecureAnywhere to see if it works better? Prevx 3.0 is going to be migrated to WSA very soon so it's probably best to test using that to see if it fixes the problem.
     
  12. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Not just me then ;)

    I'm holding off for now.

    Those 2 files not being able to run are not super important, it was only an attempted test. But i thought you would like to know as well. You could grab the files in the Binaries folder from the link in here https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?goto=newpost&t=309423 & see what happens, or not. If you do please let us know :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.