Detected TCP Flooding Attack

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by clanging, Aug 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. clanging

    clanging Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    United States
    I'm using ESET Smart Security 5.0.95.0. Recently I began getting the redundant warning "Detected TCP Flooding Attack". The only change I have made in the configuration of my computer was to install "Motorola Media Link" in order to sync my Motorola Atrix 2 Android based smart phone. I have been watching the olympics online over the past two weeks. I wonder if either of these activities could be the culprit? I do note that the warning message will show up when the computer is idle, suggesting that it is not due to either of these. The warning also lists my computers IP address as the "remote IP address". I have reviewed the logs and all of the sources and all of the targets are my IP address followed by a : and five digits. This suggests to me that this issue exists within my own network and is not an attack from outside. My network includes a Lynksys E4200 Wireless N router, cable modem, Synology 211J RAID drive, Solo IoSafe Mirror Drive, another desk top computer, a wireless laptop, two android devices, Two Xbox 360's and a Panasonic Viera TV. If this issues is of no danger to my system is there anyway to turn the warning off? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. clanging

    clanging Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    United States
    I have placed my networks IP address range and subnet in the the trusted zone as described in the link you posted. Unfortunately that did not alleviate the problem. Any other ideas? Thanks.
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  5. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Locate the zone 'Addresses excluded from active protection (IDS)' and add your subnet.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.