Detected DNS cache poisoning attack

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by camelia, Sep 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Mexico City
    I get this warning in my PC protected by ESS 5 (latest version) and in my Mac when I send an email from my Mac to my PC, ESS informs me ALSO a tab of Yahoo mail on my Mac reads Detected DNS cache poisoning attack
    What does this mean? Am I safe? what I ahould do? why I did receive this notification? Do I have to restart both machines? please tell me what to do!!!

    :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

    03ESET.JPG
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2012
  2. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
  3. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Mexico City
    yes but I do not understand it!!! I am running Windows XP Pro SP3 can you explain it for newbies? also in Mac I am newbie... i just bought this computer 3 days ago will be infected? The problem began when I sent an email from my Mac to my PC

    Is this a known issue or it is a FP?

    What does this issue mean?

    When does this issue started?

    Why me? LOL

    The version ESET Smart Security 5.2.9 fix this issue?

    Is the version 5.2.9 stable?

    Where is Marcos when I need him? XD



    Please help!!

    PS: I am very tired looking for a solution for this issue:'(
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2012
  4. 4L3X

    4L3X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    40
    Click windows start button and select run.

    type ...... ipconfig and hit enter

    look at the info and note the address show against ipv4 address.

    then add this address using the guide(link that Janus gave above)

    ;)
     
  5. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Then if any numbers of the IP address is greater than 255 I have to use Solution 2: DNS Flush tool example
    192.168.256.0

    But if any of the numbers of the IP address is NOT greater than 255, Am I ok?
    Example

    192.168.2.125

    And continue with solution 1?
     
  6. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Someone? :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
     
  7. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
    Hello camelia

    If the ip address falls within the described range, as stated in the article, and ends with numbers from 0-255 ( the 3 last numbers of the ip), then go to step 4 as advised. (before doing so, see if you can recognize the ip before you excluded it from active protection.) If you cannot categorize the ip in the above given range, then you shall use the "RESET DNS-Flush tool".....And if you still do not know how to tackle the instructions from Eset, then I think it will be more advisable to contact your local ESET distributor.(and they will guide you through) Link : http://www.eset.com/language-selector/

    Cheers, Janus
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2012
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.