Destinations unreachable ?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by CloneRanger, Jun 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Following on from, Zemana www dead ? https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=275296

    I still can't reach or http://www.zemana.com or http://www.rikiott.com ?

    Normally if a www is dead or doesn't exist anymore, i either see a blank page

    w.gif

    or my ISP tries to redirect me to their explanatory page.

    inter.gif

    http://www.zemana.com and http://www.rikiott.com which are definately live as tested through a Proxy, i get blank pages like this.

    z.gif

    NOTICE the difference in text size between a genuine dead etc www and http://www.zemana.com for eg.

    This has been happening now for several days, and only affects those two www's. Every other www i visit is fine.

    They are NOT in my HOSTS file.

    What can be preventing me from reaching them ?
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    did you try restarting router/modem?
     
  3. Nizarawi

    Nizarawi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Posts:
    131
    also for me :doubt:
     
  4. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @Cudni

    No router, modem and FW but yes i did, and i've rebooted several times and cleaned/deleted cache/history etc etc since this started happening.

    Modem and FW and everything else working fine, just can't access those two www's directly ?

    @Nizarawi

    So it's not just me then, how strange :(

    I can't see my ISP blocking http://www.zemana.com or http://www.rikiott.com for that matter, so the plot thickens o_O
     
  5. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Try pinging them on the command line.
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,764
    Location:
    Texas
    Also run tracert from the command prompt.
     
  7. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    No problems on both for me.
     
  8. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @J_L and @ronjor

    ping zemana.com

    ping rikiott.com

    tracert zemana.com

    tracert rikiott.com

    Thanks :thumb: tried both suggestions with similar fails :( just one screenie to save time/space.

    tr.gif

    Thought i'd try using the IP's instead of www's


    http://www.zemana.com = 72.167.252.138

    http://www.rikiott.com = 72.167.232.191

    Yeah similar IP's, but that's due to them both being with Godaddy ;)

    zem.gif

    rik.gif

    Got through to http://www.zemana.com :thumb: and appeared to on http://www.rikiott.com but with issues ?

    Does any of the above testing throw any light on the situation ?

    @wat0114

    Yeah wierd :(

    *

    Edit - Screenies not showing ?

    *

    ReEdit - try to place screenies
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2010
  9. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    It could probably be DNS server failure. (sometimes servers do not update, it can be down to the websites host)

    Try adding another DNS server IP to your system. Try OpenDNS


    - Stem
     
  10. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 20, 2010
  11. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @Stem

    After 3 days i would have thought 2 www's from different coutries, Turkey and USA, should have noticed and resolved any issues by now ?

    Thanks, i may do if it doesn't get sorted. Something not right going on somewhere though :(

    @wat0114

    ? Found out from Admin those screenies got lost in transit whilst posting :( As you can see i have just managed to Edit and upload them today, which should make things a lot clearer for people now i hope.

    http://www.rikiott.com lots of times, as shown :D http://www.zemanausa.com not until now, and that works :thumb:

    zu.gif
     
  12. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Well what do you know ! Finally able to reach them both directly :D Still don't know what the problem was though ? Very strange o_O

    r.gif

    z.gif

    Thanks to everyone who tried to help :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.