Destinations unreachable ?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by CloneRanger, Jun 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,918
    Following on from, Zemana www dead ? https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=275296

    I still can't reach or http://www.zemana.com or http://www.rikiott.com ?

    Normally if a www is dead or doesn't exist anymore, i either see a blank page

    w.gif

    or my ISP tries to redirect me to their explanatory page.

    inter.gif

    http://www.zemana.com and http://www.rikiott.com which are definately live as tested through a Proxy, i get blank pages like this.

    z.gif

    NOTICE the difference in text size between a genuine dead etc www and http://www.zemana.com for eg.

    This has been happening now for several days, and only affects those two www's. Every other www i visit is fine.

    They are NOT in my HOSTS file.

    What can be preventing me from reaching them ?
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    did you try restarting router/modem?
     
  3. Nizarawi

    Nizarawi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Posts:
    137
    also for me :doubt:
     
  4. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,918
    @Cudni

    No router, modem and FW but yes i did, and i've rebooted several times and cleaned/deleted cache/history etc etc since this started happening.

    Modem and FW and everything else working fine, just can't access those two www's directly ?

    @Nizarawi

    So it's not just me then, how strange :(

    I can't see my ISP blocking http://www.zemana.com or http://www.rikiott.com for that matter, so the plot thickens o_O
     
  5. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    Try pinging them on the command line.
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,816
    Location:
    Texas
    Also run tracert from the command prompt.
     
  7. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    No problems on both for me.
     
  8. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,918
    @J_L and @ronjor

    ping zemana.com

    ping rikiott.com

    tracert zemana.com

    tracert rikiott.com

    Thanks :thumb: tried both suggestions with similar fails :( just one screenie to save time/space.

    tr.gif

    Thought i'd try using the IP's instead of www's


    http://www.zemana.com = 72.167.252.138

    http://www.rikiott.com = 72.167.232.191

    Yeah similar IP's, but that's due to them both being with Godaddy ;)

    zem.gif

    rik.gif

    Got through to http://www.zemana.com :thumb: and appeared to on http://www.rikiott.com but with issues ?

    Does any of the above testing throw any light on the situation ?

    @wat0114

    Yeah wierd :(

    *

    Edit - Screenies not showing ?

    *

    ReEdit - try to place screenies
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2010
  9. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    It could probably be DNS server failure. (sometimes servers do not update, it can be down to the websites host)

    Try adding another DNS server IP to your system. Try OpenDNS


    - Stem
     
  10. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 20, 2010
  11. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,918
    @Stem

    After 3 days i would have thought 2 www's from different coutries, Turkey and USA, should have noticed and resolved any issues by now ?

    Thanks, i may do if it doesn't get sorted. Something not right going on somewhere though :(

    @wat0114

    ? Found out from Admin those screenies got lost in transit whilst posting :( As you can see i have just managed to Edit and upload them today, which should make things a lot clearer for people now i hope.

    http://www.rikiott.com lots of times, as shown :D http://www.zemanausa.com not until now, and that works :thumb:

    zu.gif
     
  12. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,918
    Well what do you know ! Finally able to reach them both directly :D Still don't know what the problem was though ? Very strange o_O

    r.gif

    z.gif

    Thanks to everyone who tried to help :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.