Desktop Proxy

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by DougWD61, Feb 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DougWD61

    DougWD61 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    Last night when I was shuttting down, I got a message that "Dedsktop Proxy" was not responding, "End now." You've all seen that, but I never installed a "desktop proxy" nor would I ever run one without explicitely starting and monitoring it myself.

    I did a search, and "destop proxy" comes up as a Goolge item that you install. I would never install such software, so either I'm compromised, or it is some other inert function.

    Whatever it is, can any of you give me some insight? Proxies running without my permission are a BIG nono.

    Thanks
    PS--any files that I can search for to determine what software is installed as "desktop proxy" would be appreciated.

    I'm running Spybot, Adaware, AVG Antivirus ver.7.0 and Sygate Firewall.
     
  2. DougWD61

    DougWD61 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    Forgot one thing. If this is Google, how did it get installed? I didn't do it.
     
  3. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    Some more background info

    http://www.projectcomputing.com/resources/desktopProxy/
     
  4. DougWD61

    DougWD61 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    I found the problem. It's a microsoft sub routine inherent in Explorer. Sometimes it gets confused and allows more than one instance of explorer to operate, which locks the subroutine (something like that) and casues the program to hang, and report "proxy desktop" is not responding. I had it backwards. It's proxy desktop. If you do a search, you'll find the MS knowledge base.

    The wayt o stop it is to end all but one instance of exploere.exe--you will find at least two or more running. Also, you must uncheck "open in seperate process" in teh Exploere>view>options panel.

    $hit, this reminds me of the old Win 3.1 days.

    Thanks
     
  5. IBO

    IBO Guest

    Love you Doug.
    Will those Win3.1 days ever really go, do you think?
    Not while Microsoppy's around!
     
  6. Kluster

    Kluster Guest

    Thanks DougWD61

    I saw this "Proxy Desktop" error and freaked.

    You set my mind at ease.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.