Desktop Browser Performance Review 2014 October - PCSL

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by malexous, Jan 23, 2015.

  1. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Ireland
    https://www.pitci.net/

    http://pcsl.r.worldssl.net/report/browser/performance/201410/pcsl_desktop_browser_performance_201410_en.pdf
     
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks, this is stuff what I also use to judge a browser. And then I'm mainly talking about rendering speed, RAM and CPU usage. I think the Blink engine, used by Chrome and Opera is the fastest at the moment when it comes to processing JavaScript. IE 11 is not bad either.

    I'm not impressed with Gecko from Firefox, especially on Facebook it's not as fast as I expected it would be. But when you think about, if there weren't that many idiot web-developers, this stuff wouldn't even be an issue, because it's heavy usage of JavaScript that's causing high resource usage.
     
  3. Wroll

    Wroll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    Italy
    How is it possible that Firefox has 75% average CPU usage? I tested my Firefox on venturebeat.com, a page which has 69 scripts from 25 different domains, with an old Intel E5200. I had to open more than 5 tabs, fast, one after an other, for the CPU to jump at that rate. Tested with and without addons.
     
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I get high CPU usage on almost all script-heavy sites. Some older browsers like Opera 12 can't deal with it. But I blame web-developers. Especially Facebook and Twitter are badly designed.

    I was just on www.newegg.com, it's slow as hell (too many scripts), won't be doing any business with them. But "The Daily Mail" takes the cake, what a bunch of idiots. Luckily the site keeps working for the most part if you disable scripting. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/index.html
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2015
  5. Wroll

    Wroll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    Italy
    Those sites are also image heavy, but they still don't jump to 75% CPU usage.
     
  6. Nebulus

    Nebulus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,582
    Location:
    European Union
    So, the fact that two of the first three browsers are made by Chinese has nothing to do with the fact that the test is also made by a Chinese company? IMO, the test is worthless.
     
  7. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    It's funny cause I regularly use Firefox, IE, Maxthon and Chrome. In that order. According to this test, I'm using below-average browsers. o_O
     
  8. Nebulus

    Nebulus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,582
    Location:
    European Union
    You should really consider switching to a real browser, like Sogou Highspeed Browser or Baidu Browser :rolleyes:
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It's not about images, it's about how many scripts/trackers a browser has to process. I never really thought about this subject, but if you're running a laptop, it's probably best to use a script-blocker, because some sites will drain your battery, because of heavy CPU usage. The Verge is another site that is a bit heavy, disable scripting and see how fast it all of a sudden is.

    http://www.theverge.com/
     
  10. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Holy crap, this is another example of a badly designed site, I get very high CPU usage: http://www.invincea.com/

    BTW, can you guys post what your CPU usage is while navigating this simulation? I always thought that new CPU's like the Intel Core i5 would use less than older processors, yet it does not.

    http://44floors.com/derotterdam_pano/zw.html
     
  11. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,067
    I get somewhere between 10 - 20% when rotating really quickly it reached 30%.
    I use Chrome x64 on Windows 8.1 x64. Processor: Intel Core i7 @ 3,4 GHz and integrated Intel HD 4000.
     
  12. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    That's weird, I get a usage of 80 to 100% when using Chrome. I think something might be wrong in the way Windows measures CPU usage, it seems that it measures per core. So when you use 30%, you're probably using 100%, can this be correct?
     
  13. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,067
    That's my CPU utilization per core:

    upload_2015-2-2_22-18-53.png
     
  14. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    How can I get that view?
     
  15. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,067
    You should run Process Explorer, than click View - System information (or Ctrl+I), choose CPU tab and enable Show one graph per CPU at the bottom.
     
  16. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    My bad, I thought it was the Task Manager. But I think I'm right, 30% usage of one CPU core is in fact 100% usage of the CPU. Very weird, how come there is no difference with 10 year old CPU's?
     
  17. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,067
    My testing was flawed - I didn't test it in full resolution (1920x1080). After running it maximized these are results I get:

    Process explorer

    upload_2015-2-2_22-47-6.png

    Task manager (Resource monitor)

    upload_2015-2-2_22-48-19.png

    I don't think that this is unusual for Flash content.
     
  18. Yuki2718

    Yuki2718 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,257
    Better screen = more CPU consumption.
    Also, I think many of recent CPU more aimed at suppressing power consumption than processing speed even for desktop, except some high-end models like 4790K.
     
  19. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,697
    You should also check your consumption without security software.
    If you cut down on anti-virus and such, you will cut down your CPU usage significantly.
    My tests show 50-80% reduction.
    Mrk
     
  20. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I don't use any AV, and my CPU usage is normally not high at all. But like I said, I came to the conclusion that tools like Process Explorer and Task Manager do not measure CPU usage the right way. They measure per core, this means I can never get over 25 to 30% of usage, which is of course nonsense.

    The next question is, how come that new multi-core CPU's are using just as many CPU cycles as old CPU's, when they need to process "heavy" stuff like Flash animations and video-games for example. BTW, if you want to measure true usage of CPU, I suggest to use TinyResMeter, with "TopCPU" enabled.

    http://perso.accelance.net/~pesoft/trm/us_trm.html
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2015
  21. Yuki2718

    Yuki2718 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,257
    If you're using Intel Core i, possibly disabling Hyperthreading may change the CPU usage greatly. As long as your processor have 4 or more cores, I don't expect much performance decline unless you need to use many processes at the same time.
     
  22. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    But most importantly... do you really notice a performance impact? I mean, monitoring cpu usage all day will surely make you think one thing, but what really matters is the 'feel'. In your place, I wouldn't worry at all as long as I have a responsive browsing experience.
     
  23. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I will check it, thanks.

    I agree, but I was wondering about it from a technical point of view. Of course, browsers seem to work a bit more smoothly on my new machine, but CPU usage is the same as on old machines, I don't know if that's normal or not.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2015
Loading...