Desktop application sandboxing for Linux

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by mack_guy911, May 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
  2. mvario

    mvario Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Posts:
    339
    Location:
    Haddonfield, IL
    Thanks for the info. Sounds interesting. And he says they are using it for WebLive so it should be getting a nice workout.
     
  3. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
  4. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    The Lucid version stands at 0.3.2 while in Maverick onward they are using 1.0. Just getting ready to try it in Lucid even if it is is rather old.

    Later...

    Bob
     
  5. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    I installed Arkose from the PPA for Lucid, which, again, uses version 0.3.2 instead of 1.0, and all I'll say is you'd best be careful with this one. In the gui I chose to have the sandboxed files deposited in my home folder (.arkose), which took away the requirement to log in as root everytime, but I closed out Firefox improperly once (I closed Terminal instead of Firefox) and was left with over 2 gigs of root owned data in /home/user/.arkose that I just couldn't get rid of afterwards. I tried to "chown user -hR .arkose" this folder a number of times but to no avail. It was my own fault, of course, but still it was a pain. I will say that it functioned fine up until my blunder, though I did receive an error message from Firefox each time it opened related to firefox-bin not opening properly. The folder /home/user/.arkose did empty itself after each Firefox closeout.

    Later...
     
  6. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,101
    Hi Trespasser,

    Did you try?: sudo chown user -hR .arkos

    -- Tom
     
  7. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
  8. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    lsattr to see the file attributes (perhaps i bit is set).
    chattr -i to remove immutability and then be able to delete.
    Mrk
     
  9. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Of course. Thanks for your reply.

    Mack_Guy,
    Don't feel too sorry for me, but thanks anyway. I was able to CloneZilla my way back to normalcy easy enough.

    Mrk,
    Thanks for that bit of info. Next time I find myself in that type of situation again at least I'll know what to do.

    Later...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.