Deploying Nod32 from

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products' started by Simac Parbri, Apr 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Simac Parbri

    Simac Parbri Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Weston-Super-Mare
    I'm running
    ESET Remote Administrator Console (Windows 2000/2003/2008/XP/Vista)
    Current version: 3.0.105
    Software size: 14.3 MB
    Last updated on: 28.1.2009

    and deploying to Vista Enterprise 64-bit group policy has disabled the firewall.

    I have made sure that the remote registry service is running.
    but when I try to deploy the packages from the ERA the system fails with SC error code 11, GLE error code 5, diagnostics return the following;

    Computer: Cs-it-107
    Domain: Student_domain
    Get Info Diagnostics, server: CS-IT-107, user: administrator
    Setting IPC$ Connection Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Registry Connecting (OS Info) Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Registry Opening (OS Info) Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Registry Reading (OS Info) Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Registry Connecting (ESET Security Product Info) Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Registry Opening (ESET Security Product Info) Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Registry Reading (ESET Security Product Info) Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Install Diagnostics, server: Svr-03, user: administrator
    Setting ADMIN$ Connection Result Code: 53 (The network path was not found.)
    Setting IPC$ Connection Result Code: 53 (The network path was not found.)
    Registering ESET Installer as a Service Result Code: 1722 (The RPC server is unavailable.)

    what do I need to do to the Vista client to enable the ERA to deploy the software, I cannot use Group Policy as we have attempted this in the past and it is unreliable and creates mixed results on our network, I need to be able to use the ERA to deploy this as we are planning a vista roll-out to just over 800 machines and cannot afford to "tweak" 800 different groups of computers so I need to perform this on our image before the roll-out.

    Help me Obi-Wan you're my only hope!!o_O
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2009
  2. CarlB

    CarlB Former Eset Employee

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    Hi there!

    A few things need to be checked/adjusted:

    1) You should probably disable UAC if you haven't already
    2) Verify that IPC and ADMIN shares are available from the workstation. From the command prompt:
    Code:
    net use \\servername\ipc$
    You can check the ADMIN share availability from Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> Shared Folders -> Shares.
    3) Verify the Remote Procedure Call (RPC) service is running - I believe it off by default on Vista.

    The complete requirements checklist for remote "push" installation can be found in our knowledgebase, here:
    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN82

    Enjoy!
     
  3. Simac Parbri

    Simac Parbri Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Weston-Super-Mare
    Re: Deploying Nod32 from Windows 2k8 std to Vista Ent 64

    Thanks, I've tried all of this and still no luck, firewall is definately off on both machines, ERA can deploy to other XP machines but Vista fails with "Could not install ESET Installer on target computer (SC error code 11, GLE error code 5)

    I have run through the check list, ADMIN$ and C$ are both active, UAC is disabled, file and print sharing is enabled, the services are in their correct states, I've even put the port numbers into the server's firewall even though it's disabled.

    I'm stumped helpo_O o_O
     
  4. Simac Parbri

    Simac Parbri Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Weston-Super-Mare
    The errors in diagnostics seems to have changed a bit now too;

    Computer: Cs-it-107
    Domain: Student_domain
    Get Info Diagnostics, server: SVR-03, user: simon.macmanus
    Setting IPC$ Connection Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Registry Connecting (OS Info) Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Registry Opening (OS Info) Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Registry Reading (OS Info) Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Registry Connecting (ESET Security Product Info) Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Registry Opening (ESET Security Product Info) Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Registry Reading (ESET Security Product Info) Result Code: 2 (The system cannot find the file specified.)
    Remote Install Diagnostics, server: Svr-03, user: simon.macmanus
    Setting ADMIN$ Connection Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Copying ESET Installer Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Setting IPC$ Connection Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Registering ESET Installer as a Service Result Code: 5 (Access is denied.)

    I've even removed the old Version 3 that I was trying to install 4 over now as I thought that perhaps it was the old registry key issue where nod was looking for the "install successful" regkey but no.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2009
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Do you have valid login credentials set in the Remote Install tab -> Logon ?
     
  6. Simac Parbri

    Simac Parbri Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Weston-Super-Mare
    yes it's using a domain administrator UID
     
  7. CarlB

    CarlB Former Eset Employee

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    Left field here, but is the Administrator password blank by any chance?

    I'm with Marcos in that it seems to be very much an access/permissions issue, as all the other tests pass and the other criteria are all met.

    If whatever identity owns the installation does not have permission to register a new service, there won't be a workaround for that.

    That the problem is contained to Vista machines only reinforces the notion that it's somewhere deep in policy or permissions.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.