Dell Dimension E520

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by freeway29, Apr 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. freeway29

    freeway29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Hi all got a Dell Dimension E520 running vista home 32 bit, my problem is when i choose it to shut down on the start menu it goes to shut down but restarts instead.

    things i have tried , changing power options, power supply, different ram, freshly installed system, another hard drive, keyboard and googled it to and still no luck can any one help please.
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
  3. freeway29

    freeway29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    tried the sections with power options as there both on shut down and still no good any other ideas thanks.
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    How old is the machine and is it still under warranty? Maybe give Dell a call!

    TH
     
  5. freeway29

    freeway29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    2007 machine and tried dell an they couldnt do it
     
  6. freeway29

    freeway29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    for those who tried to help thanks but got it all done was the remote wake up in bios was on so turned it off and done thanks to all.
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    Good to hear it's working for you. :)
     
  8. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    freeway29

    Curious, what tipped you off to look at your BIOS.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.