Deletion of old backups failing in Backup Location

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by beej9, Aug 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. beej9

beej9 Registered Member

Hi, I hope you can help.

I have read the ATI manual and all the forum posts on backup locations thoroughly; I am an IT consultant and am quite certain that I have created the backup location and scheduled jobs correctly, yet old backups are not getting deleted - ATI (4942) tries to delete them, but fails with the error "Archive is invalid or its type is unsupported." The archives **_ARE_** valid, proven by ATI Validation succeeding and the fact that I have successfully restored them - once for test purposes, once after my primary HDD failed.

I run a simple backup scenario: full disk images only, no incrementals or differentials, and only one quota (number of backups).

I run Windows XP SP2.
    I am backing up to a 2nd internal hard drive.
    I ran CHKDSK /R on the 2nd hard drive and there were no errors.

Here is what I have tried, for both full disk image and single file folder backups (the latter so I can quickly test settings):
    - delete existing Backup Location
    - uninstall previous build / reboot / clean install Build 4942
    - create Backup Location (only one limit is set: # of Backups = 2)
    - create Scheduled Task (Full Backups ONLY)
    - set Task start time to one minute from now, so it runs via schedule
    - repeat until # of Backups limit is exceeded
    - oldest archive NOT DELETED!
    - check log and see ERROR (Archive is invalid or its type is unsupported.)

Here is a screenshot of a typical log entry:
    http://www.pcmentoring.com/images/ScreenShot-ArchiveIsInvalid.jpg

WRT uninstall/reinstall, this post refers to a confounded registry. When I uninstalled, I simply used Add/Remove Programs in Control Panel, I did not regedit and manually delete any leftover keys. Might that help?