Deleting old back ups, v10

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dragon03, Oct 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dragon03

    dragon03 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Hi - I'm backing up to an external hard drive, keeping 2 copies, then deleting the earliest when I add the third back up. However, I get the message' Cannot delete...it is being used by another person or programme. Close any programs that might be using the file and try again'.


    There's nothing else running, so could someone help, please? Thanks
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    There's some inherent wonkies in windows that let this happen. Sometimes the program that's holding onto the file is the the instance of explorer that you are using to try to delet the file.

    If you want, you can instal file Unlocker, made for just such occassions and it's free:

    http://ccollomb.free.fr/unlocker/
     
  3. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Or you can try deleting in Safe Mode.
     
  4. dragon03

    dragon03 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you, I'll give it a go. Funnily enough, I just tried again, after turning the external drive off and on, and it let me delete 2 items, then locked again.
     
  5. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Make yourself a BartPE cd - and include the True Image Plug-in for more features. But just the plain BartPE cd will come in handy in more ways than one and it will let you pick and choose which files to delete.
     
  6. TheSpaniard

    TheSpaniard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Javea Spain
    I found this problem and solved it by disabling Norton Protected Files.
    The Protected Files part of Norton was being copied across to my
    second hard drive which I use for images.

    Check this if you are using Norton Anti-Virus.

    Hope this helps.
     
  7. sarutaro

    sarutaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    169
    I don't have NAV. That happens so often to me. As shieber mentioned, I have been using unlocker without any problem. I found that Unlocker was a very convenient tool. The use of unlocker is a lot easier than deleting files under safemode or after booting with other bootdisks.
    Sarutaro
     
  8. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    And easier than making a BartPE cd ;-)

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.