Deleting Context Menu Entries

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hdbrown, Dec 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hdbrown

    hdbrown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    I recently installed True Image Home 11 on my Windows 2K system. The installation added two context (right button) menu items, "Search in Backup Archive" and "Backup". My context menus are already too crowded. How do I eliminate these entries?

    Thanks for any info.

    Hal
     
  2. hdbrown

    hdbrown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    I found a 2003 forum post by Vanguard which suggested using nirsoft's ShellExView to disable the context menu items. I did so, and the problem is solved.

    Thanks,
    Hal
     
  3. jarmoa

    jarmoa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Helsinki,Finland
    Thank you! Context menu is better now.
    I have never needed those two entries, and because they were in different language than everything else (I am using localized Windows), they were even more disturbing.
     
  4. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    This sounded just the ticket, but it is not having any effect in my Vista system. The entries I want to remove are marked 'disabled' but the context menu itself is not changed, not even when right clicking the exe and clicking 'Run as Administrator'. I don't have any new context menu entries following the installation of TI 11 either, although there are several others I would like to remove.
     
  5. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    The search feature can be a very good friend. Very few questions are really new. Most have already been asked and answered. Some prior discussion which cover removing the Acronis entry; or making your right click menu smaller by moving unused entries to a lower menu--using Mmm

    How to remove "Backup" item in context menu?
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=180316

    Re-Arrange Context Menu site
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=181306

    Remove the "backup" context menu entry?
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=163898
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.