Defensewall

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by waters, Nov 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    use the rollback feature or just leave it in there for ever as ii is criple malware:) dont worry about it will not hurt you at all
     
  2. Rivalen

    Rivalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    I am a novice user of DW since beta days. From very first day Ilya has recommended I use an AV to complement DW and keep some track on eventual malware in the sandbox so that they dont spread to my friends, but for those malware that cannot yet be protected from by mainly signature based AVs - I depend on DW to protect me when Antivir cannot.

    I have never heard Ilya claim anything else when it comes to what role DW should play in the defense for an ordinary user. Thats straight forward - why complicate it - there are plenty of good free AVs around.

    As soon as DW v3 public beta is out - Ill install it - no doubt.

    To my limited knowledge Sandboxie is another concept than DW and doesnt suite me and my way of using my PC. Same goes for Shadow-whatever virtualisation-defense. I have tried two or three.

    Best Regards
     
  3. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    958
    Whats the most damage that can be done using the rollback feature
     
  4. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    You can erase an important file.
     
  5. chris2busy

    chris2busy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    you can let the caged malware get out
     
  6. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    958
    I meant by delete all.Would you just end up with how thing were when defensewall was first installed.
     
  7. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Same with me. I may try other programs but Defensewall is always running on my system. And if some other security app I am trying don't get along with Defensewall.....Defensewall stays and the other app goes.
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    files that you download from your untrusted applications
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    if you empty/delete the rollback everything you download from untrusted aplications it is back to a clean state
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2009
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    yes,like when i test malware my rollback is empty then i install let's say 25 malware samples and i see bunch of stuff %&^(* like that then i go to my rollback list and delete all every thing all files that i install/download/saved files,reg keys,etc etc will be gone with the wind and will bring my pc back to normal exatly same as it was before installing all this malware:) ;) got to love it
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    an untrusted file yes but not the trusted files;) so real system is safe:)
     
  12. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    It also has a rollback to feature, which to me is unique, in that you can rollback to a given time listed in the files and registry tracks.

    You can see the date and time in the list, and decide, I'll clear 'untrusted' system changes and rollback to say 'Wednesay, at 2pm before I opened XYZ'.

    Not sure if other programs have this, either way, works well.
     
  13. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    You sure about this? To my mind by rolling back a file or registry track associated with malware you would simply be completely erasing that particular malware file or registry track from the entire system not letting it out in anyway. The only danger from my perspective is an Ilya said you might actually delete an important file. For example you download an important word document via an untrusted browser, the document in question would also be untrusted. If you then went in and were not careful about using the rollback function you might delete that document from the real system. Atleast this was how I thought it worked. Can someone please shed some light on this issue?

    Also can DW PF work in tandem with a software firewall?

    Thanks!
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    defensewall personal firewall likes other firewalls i tried: outpost comodo,OA,privacy firewall:)
     
  15. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Be prepared for 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
     
  16. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Thsi is the only reason I have Avast beta 5 on my wife's machine (only e-mail and file shield)
     
  17. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    958
    Rollback feature deletes all utorrent setup.How would i exclude the download folder and application data settings for utorrent.With sandboxie its easy i just exclude and force downloads to run sandboxed
     
  18. Rivalen

    Rivalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    For my friends that are even more novice than I am - they might have some software that I helped them install as trusted under DW. If these software update automatically as trusted its all OK and a nobrainer for novice users, but when these software need to start IE - which will automatically be untrusted under DW - to download and install the update file - than some of my friend loose the concept and consider DW too complicated for them. I dont know what Ilya can do about that and still keep DW as safe as it is?

    Maybe a function where I can set that if this particular trusted software starts IE to got to this particular site - to download - then IE should be considered trusted by DW?

    If that was possible in DW I know a couple of friends I would recommend buying DW. Its a balance between the strong protection and the functionality that some novice users need.

    Dont know if I made myself clear here :cool: ? A while back I was not focused and tried to install a new version of Antivir - that I downloaded as untrusted -by just saving and doubleclicking - the amount of processes grew in the sandbox - and I didnt see it happen - and the installation failed. I manage to fix/correct that, but my more novice friends just say - take it off - i dont want it.

    Not really critisicm - just trying to contribute and learn more.

    Best Regards
     
  19. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Yes, V3 contains two improvements about this.
     
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    this firewall is cool it doesnt hit you with so many pop ups like other firewalls;) this is what i wanted from long time:D
     
  21. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    How good is the network protection in DW PF? Does the firewall have TCP header inspection? Thanks.
     
  22. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Any software fw can be configured to reduce or even eliminate pop-ups. It's not ground-breaking technology.
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    the thing is that some firewalls forget the rules and they attack me with pop ups that i already made a rule for and it forgot to remember that particular rule and kill me with bunch of pop ups:D
     
  24. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Then it's a bug in the fw or a user mistake ;) not saying you made a mistake, but it's a common problem with people trying to set up fw rules correctly, especially when they make them overly granular.
     
  25. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    maybe me:D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.