Defensewall whitelist questions

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Monkey_Feces, Apr 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Monkey_Feces

Monkey_Feces Registered Member

I'm a lazy ass and don't want to use DW's expert mode since I am no expert. Are the whitelisted program lists proactively created after some sort of application analysis? What if I accidentally run an altered version of a default whitelisted app? Would DW catch it and make it run untrusted? Basically, how safe am I when I use default mode vs expert?

2. Kees1958

Kees1958 Registered Member

HI,

You only have to enter the untrusted aps. There are some defaults, but make sure all your e-mail, chat, skype, webbrowser, p2p, gamespeak, phone download softeware is added (via a standard add file windows dialogue).

3. Monkey_Feces

Monkey_Feces Registered Member

Are you saying I should manually run all apps I open with the right click menu as untrusted? Secondly, does defensewall offer any user aid or information via context menus/tooltips? I find that its interface and help file are lacking. How will I know if I'm infected with anything if everything is done manually with defensewall? If that's the case, I'm thinking of sticking exclusively with Prevx1. Out of every other HIPS, it wasn't too intrusive like SSM or a resource hog like CyberHawk.

4. Ilya Rabinovich

Ilya Rabinovich Developer

There are four ways to run application as untrusted.

1. There is built-in list of known threatgate applications. It installs on demand or during installation process.
    2. Add in into untrusted list manually.
    3. With right-click menu.
    4. Application have been created by untrusted process and already in untrusted list (default mode).

Yes, via Explorer's context menu.

Will be improved for v2.0.

1. If malware is within untrusted area- you will never been infected as malware won't be able install itself propertly into your system.