defensewall vs runasadmin explorer shim

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ramoncin, Oct 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ramoncin

ramoncin Registered Member

Hi all,

what would provide better protection (I use XP SP3):
    1- running an admin account with lowered privileges with RunasAdmin Explorer Shim
    2- running an admin account with Defensewall

I tend to think that RunasAdmin would be safer as privileges are lowered across the board, while DW requires to mark as Untrusted specific applications.

RunAsadmin does also allow to run an app with admin privileges when needed thru a context menu option (it also allows to permanently raise rights for that application by hash or path).

Any expert advice for this security noob? thanks

Last edited: Oct 19, 2008
  2. farmerlee

farmerlee Registered Member

I'm no expert but if you're looking for simple privilege control then runasadmin would suffice. However if you're after something more advanced with more features then defensewall is a good option.

3. CogitoErgoSum

CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

Hello ramoncin,

For best and maximum protection you should run a limited user account with DefenseWall(DW). On the other hand, based upon personal experience, it is my opinion that running DW under an administrator account with system and web browser hardening provides nearly impenetrable security.

If you have not yet done so, please take a look at the following relevant DW links below.

http://gladiator-antivirus.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=74057 (DefenseWall Offers Protection Beyond That of a Limited User Account)
    http://gladiator-antivirus.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=74162&st=0&p=208009&#entry208009 (Post #4)
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1306970&postcount=44
    http://gladiator-antivirus.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=75428 (Web Browser Hardening Resource List For DefenseWall Users)