Defensewall Stripped my Administrative privileges

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by sun88, Sep 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sun88

    sun88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Posts:
    66
    I found out that Defensewall had stripped my administrative privileges - even after I exited DW. I'm running XP Pro SP3 with a single user, so I was backed into a corner.

    I was worried for a few minutes that my system was hosed, because I wouldn't even be able to perform a system restore. I used MSCONFIG to stop DW from running the next time I booted, and it complained that I didn't have sufficient privileges. But fortunately, after a reboot I was able to uninstall DW and now my system is back to normal.

    Note to self: be careful about installing security software without a very recent backup.
     
  2. sun88

    sun88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Posts:
    66
    Fantasy - "that shouldn't happen"
    Reality - It did happen.
    I'm 100% sure Ilya will see this thread.

    ssj100 - I would like to respond to your suggestions, but that would be off topic in this thread.
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    maybe a conflict , are you runing other security software?
     
  4. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    sun88,
    Could it be as simple as you exited DW but did not disable it?
    The first time I used DW a couple of years ago I made that mistake and drove myself crazy for a few minutes until I realized what I had done.
    Hope this helps.
    Hugger
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    :thumb:
    good advise:thumb:
     
  6. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Shutting down the program before uninstalling is good advice.

    Also, entering safe mode and uninstalling the program works well too.
     
  7. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    that is what i do too:cool:
     
  8. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    I just was playing around with DW and installing some software.
    It is easy to Exit DW, but if I didn't Disable it first, DW, thank you Ilya, continued to protect me.
    To install most software I need to run the browser or the download manager as trusted.
    Also need to remeber to set the browser or download manager to untrusted when I'm done.
    Personally, I'm happy it works this way.
    Hugger
     
  9. Lebowsky

    Lebowsky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    Or, you could do what i do, and just right-click the .exe file of the app. and click 'run as trusted'.
     
  10. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    It means that, by some reasons, DW has turned your Explorer into untrusted state. If you have c:\windows\dwall_log_file.txt- zip and send it to the support address.
     
  11. sun88

    sun88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Posts:
    66
    Thanks. When you exit a program you have the expectation that you are terminating it, so I wouldn't call it a mistake that you didn't realize you have to first disable it. It's not like that is what we are used to.

    I'm not inclined to do anymore testing of DW since I would have to figure out for myself why Flash player doesn't work in Firefox and I'm not up for it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.