Defensewall Skype help needed...

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by overangry, Sep 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. overangry

    overangry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    309
    ***SOLVED***

    I'm trialling Defensewall at the moment and cannot get Skype to run trusted. This may not even fix the issue.

    I run Skype over VoSKY call centre which enables me to receive/make calls over my home phone.
    Vosky runs as a trusted application, Skype as mentioned is untrusted, the two programs are unable to communicate with each other.
    Skype over headset works as intended.

    EDIT: Did not see the exclude button...I feel like an idiot, Just getting old I suppose:D
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2009
  2. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Try this (as an alternative to exclude Vosky's diectories)

    A) set Vosky to be untrusted also

    B) go to main console, select advanced options, select options,
    make sure the display logs is selected temporarely
    select notifications:==> make sure the protected resources notification is selected (temporarely) also.


    c) Run skype with Vosk
    Select YES + REMEMBER (do not show again) to all the resource protection notifications

    d) When it still fails, clear the logs and run it again
    Write down all access which is denied, next go to resource protection and check whether there are entries for both programs. When not create them and add for both applications all directories/folders/registry keys which have been denied access. SO is key A is mentioned for Vosky and Key B for Skype, add both keys A and B to boths Skype and Vosky

    e) When this fails, contact ILYA
     
  3. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Re: ***SOLVED***

    DefenseWall's support forum is located different place. So, the first attempt here is to make VoSKY call centre application untrusted. If no use, you have to go official support forum and post DW's logs on following rules:
    1. Clean up "Events log" sheet.
    2. Reproduce the issue.
    3. Without runing more untrusted applications, export DW's logs ("Events log"->"Export") into a file and post it there.
     
  4. overangry

    overangry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    309
    Thanks for your help, I found a way to achieve comparability and will in future post in the appropriate forum:D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.