DefenseWall problem since updating Firefox

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Pentangle, Jun 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pentangle

    Pentangle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Since updating to the newest version of Firefox (3.6.4) I can't access Yahoo mail, the browser freezes and needs to be restarted. I believe the new Fx file "plugin-container.exe" is responsible but I don't know how to exclude it. Any help or advice would be most appreciated.

    Dell Optiplex GX270 1.5GB RAM
    Intel Pentium4 CPU 2.60GHz
    XP Pro SP3 fully patched
    AV: avast! Home Edition 5.0.418
    Browser: Fx 3.6.4
    F/W: Outpost Free
    DefenseWall HIPS v2.56
    Sandboxie Registered 3.45.20
    SAS Free (on demand)
    MBAM (on demand)
    WinPatrol Plus 16.1.2009.1:16.1.2009.1
     
  2. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    818
  3. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,224
    Location:
    USA
    I am running the latest version of Firefox (3.6.4) with DW 3.02 and have no problems. Both FF and plugin-container.exe are running as "untrusted." I was able to open Yahoo mail and have had no browser problems.
     
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    27,721
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Halvah, perhaps this MozillaZine Post will help you disable the plugin-container.exe (5 entries) for testing purposes.

    You can revert back if the issue is somewhere else.
     
  5. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    You have to use the latest defensewall_initialization.txt definitions. And 2.56 is too outdated.
     
  6. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    439

    This is one BIG reason so many of us use DefenseWall!!!!!

    A user has a problem, posts it in a forum, and within a few hours Ilya is posting a solution.

    That's support!
     
  7. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,171
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    I added that plug in exe to Sandboxie and youtube and other videos work fine. If Defencewall has a white list add it to that and see if that helps.
     
  8. Pentangle

    Pentangle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Thanks for your help. Time to update soon.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.