DefenseWall problem since updating Firefox

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Pentangle, Jun 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pentangle

    Pentangle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Since updating to the newest version of Firefox (3.6.4) I can't access Yahoo mail, the browser freezes and needs to be restarted. I believe the new Fx file "plugin-container.exe" is responsible but I don't know how to exclude it. Any help or advice would be most appreciated.

    Dell Optiplex GX270 1.5GB RAM
    Intel Pentium4 CPU 2.60GHz
    XP Pro SP3 fully patched
    AV: avast! Home Edition 5.0.418
    Browser: Fx 3.6.4
    F/W: Outpost Free
    DefenseWall HIPS v2.56
    Sandboxie Registered 3.45.20
    SAS Free (on demand)
    MBAM (on demand)
    WinPatrol Plus 16.1.2009.1:16.1.2009.1
     
  2. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
  3. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    I am running the latest version of Firefox (3.6.4) with DW 3.02 and have no problems. Both FF and plugin-container.exe are running as "untrusted." I was able to open Yahoo mail and have had no browser problems.
     
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,916
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Halvah, perhaps this MozillaZine Post will help you disable the plugin-container.exe (5 entries) for testing purposes.

    You can revert back if the issue is somewhere else.
     
  5. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    You have to use the latest defensewall_initialization.txt definitions. And 2.56 is too outdated.
     
  6. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    439

    This is one BIG reason so many of us use DefenseWall!!!!!

    A user has a problem, posts it in a forum, and within a few hours Ilya is posting a solution.

    That's support!
     
  7. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    I added that plug in exe to Sandboxie and youtube and other videos work fine. If Defencewall has a white list add it to that and see if that helps.
     
  8. Pentangle

    Pentangle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Thanks for your help. Time to update soon.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.