Default Settings for NOD32 v5

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Red Dawn, Sep 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Red Dawn

    Red Dawn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    116
    I've been looking around just to make sure, but have not found an answer to this. Are the default settings in v5 strong enough, or do others suggest certain settings changes to make sure all is good to go? I remember with v3 and v4, default settings weren't optimal/strongest, and Blackspear had a configuration file that people could use that made everything nice and tight, with no issues to the end user. Since I've un-installed v4 and now installed v5, I just wanted to know if anyone thinks the settings as is are either good enough, or, things should be changed.. I'm not going to import the old blackspear settings I used with v4, because I see things are different with this new version... Thanks..
     
  2. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    defaut settings are ok for me.

    With strict cleaning, you have the risk to delete clean files in an infected folders. Just have a look to help files with words "cleaning levels"

    You can explore the settings and come back if you have questions.
     
  3. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    That is something of a difficult question to answer, because it really depends on your risk and what sort of tradeoffs in security versus performance that you're willing to make. You could go through the Advanced Settings and enable detection for Advanced Heuristics/DNA/Smart Signatures and Runtime Packers everywhere and it would increase your security somewhat. On the other hand, it is also going to slow down the system somewhat, and there's always the possibility of a false positive alarm when you turn on additional detections, as infinitesimal as that might be.

    Probably the best thing to do is save (export) your current settings, then make changes to one option at a time, use the system for a few days or even a week to see what impact that has, and then repeat this for each other option you are interested in changing.

    I think Blackspear's settings were needed more with v2.x than for later versions, but it's been a while since I've looked at them.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  4. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Just enable advanced heuristics and runtime packers in realtime protection.
     
  5. Sacles

    Sacles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Belgique
    Hello,

    HIPS is an important development for the new version.

    I think ESET should have made an effort to explain the default setting of HIPS (Automatic mode with rules).

    Just writing "Operations are enabled, except pre-defined rules that protect your system" is clearly inadequate.

    Could someone explain clearly how the default setting of the HIPS works?
     
  6. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    with power cost...:doubt: o_O
     
  7. Red Dawn

    Red Dawn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    116
    Ya, wasn't that one of the issues with v4, that if enabled, they slowed your machine down quite a bit? I remember something about that and high cpu usage...
     
  8. Red Dawn

    Red Dawn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    116
    I'm guessing that with Automatic mode/HIPS enabled, rules are maybe cloud based, or something, cause in the rules editor, there aren't any, but you can add some of needed.. not to much documentation on it, but I'm guessing that's how it works..
     
  9. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    we discussed that here many times....

    no need to do that, in advanced setting of real time protection, adv heur/DNA/smart signature is already enabled for new and modified files and run-time packers.

    No need to run adv heur all the time, just as needed. Isn't it ?
     
  10. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Keep the protection enabled when you perform a write to the filesystem: e.g. When you create, modify, rename, copy or move a file. And you will be fine.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.