Decentraleyes for Firefox loads CDN resources locally

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Nanobot, Nov 26, 2015.

  1. Nanobot

    Nanobot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Posts:
    237
    Location:
    Neo Tokyo
  2. Nanobot

    Nanobot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Posts:
    237
    Location:
    Neo Tokyo
  3. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,010
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I think I read something about this in some other thread, it seems to be quite a nifty feature.
     
  4. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    /installed (after backup) for testing purpose
    not sure if some delays are cause by this, but at least firefox need to load another 8mb extension (23meg unpacked). uBlock origin was reduced in size for download and usage from 3meg to 1.5meg.
     
  5. Nanobot

    Nanobot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Posts:
    237
    Location:
    Neo Tokyo
    Didn't noticed any perceivable delays (I'm on HDD) nor any increase in FF ram usage, YMMV. In any case, the browsing speed and privacy benefits outweigh the few (if any) negative effects.
     
  6. ace2564

    ace2564 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    NYC
    I know this thread is old. Just came across this extension. Anybody using it?
     
  7. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    791
    Location:
    India
    I am using it.
    Its a nice complement to my uBlock Origin which used to have this feature once before. With this one can reduce even more number of 3rd party connections, thus exposing to less number of 3rd parties a website has to load. :)
    I don't see any issues with it my browsing!
     
  8. haakon

    haakon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Posts:
    749
    Location:
    SW USA
    decentraleyes dot org is down. So /test page unavailable. :'(

    Verified via downforeveryoneorjustme and isitdownrightnow dot coms.

    FWIW email sent to decentraleyes @ protonmail.
     
  9. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    720
    Yes, and the latest commit on the github site was on May 17. Moreoever, the author hasn't answered issues for many weeks. I hope that I'm wrong but it looks like that project is dead.
     
  10. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    791
    Location:
    India
    I have recently moved away from this extension. See this. I have encountered this behavior (hanging) on couple of sites (one such example). Though it is not a very common behavior, i have observed it 2 or 3 times only:). For now i intend to use Add-ons which are very lean, and do its job efficiently.

    I dream, if we have an option to redirect any http url to an https one through our adblockers.. This would easily solve the people to give up httpseverywhere and alike extensions. Hope this feature is in scope/feasible and comes to uBO (@gorhill)
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2016
  11. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    720
    I haven't noticed any problems with it, and your example works for me. FWIW, I've added the rules suggested here to uMatrix. Perhaps this makes a difference.

    Why not use the "HTTPS by default" or "Smart HTTPS" extensions? I'm using the first one and disabled httpseverywhere.
     
  12. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    791
    Location:
    India
    Thanks. I will test this again, and let you know the results.

    hmmm. I will look at it. Do you know which is efficient? Still i prefer, if this feature is available in adblocker itself ( hoping this feature fits into privacy/security aspect of an adblocker (uBO,..) ). As, this would mitigate to use one whole additional extension it self.
     
  13. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    720
    I think both are. I just switched to Smart HTTPS again. It has some features the other one hasn't. But both have been working well for me.
     
  14. Nanobot

    Nanobot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Posts:
    237
    Location:
    Neo Tokyo
    https://github.com/Synzvato/decentraleyes/issues/116#issuecomment-242584980
     
  15. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    720
  16. haakon

    haakon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Posts:
    749
    Location:
    SW USA
    Definitely good news.

    The decentraleyes dot org test page is working again, too. :thumb: Maybe my email had something to do with that. Maybe not. I haven't yet gotten a reply nor expect one, actually.
     
  17. Nanobot

    Nanobot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Posts:
    237
    Location:
    Neo Tokyo
    Decentraleyes 1.3.6

    New features:

    - Added support for multi-process browser tabs.

    Bugfixes:

    - Fixed a security issue that caused CSPs to be less effective against XSS.
    - Fixed additional compatibility issues with various Yandex services.
    - Fixed a grammatical error in the German localization.

    New libraries:

    - jQuery 1.12.0, 1.12.1, 1.12.2, 1.12.3, 1.12.4
     
  18. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    very nice :thumb:
     
Loading...