Deadly Query - don't all jump on me!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jimrx4, Aug 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jimrx4

    jimrx4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    48
    I had a complete m/b crash. Shorted the mobo and video card - completly trashed my machine. The previous day I had made a b/u image of my C drive on another physical D drive. Now that my computer has been trashed and the new one I ordered is on its way with a serial drive and my old has an ATA drive, any chance in the whole world I can try and restore my PATA Win drive C image to my new SATA drive?
     
  2. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    yes, it can be restored to your new computer . Backup images can be restored to IDE or SATA with version 9.0 or higher of true image.
     
  3. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Your main problem is going to be that the Windows in your image is configured to work with the hardware of your old system. Your new system will require different device drivers.

    Acronis makes a product that does not work with TI Home, requires Workstation, called Universal Restore for this type of situation.

    You can also look at Microsoft's Sysprep utility which will take care of PCI devices. A Windows repair is also another mechanism to get you going with the new system.

    I can't provide any more info than that since I always prefer to do a fresh, clean install on a new system so I don't have to wonder if some obscure problem was caused by porting the old version. I also view the setup, even if it is a bit of a time-sink, as a good refresher.

    You might try searching this forum for more info, you aren't the first person with this problem.
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    jimrx4,

    In addition to seekforever's comments, your IDE image doesn't contain SATA drivers for the new HD.
     
  5. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    The ATI Mount Image feature should allow you to copy your personal data files from the archive to your new computer.
     
  6. RB-101

    RB-101 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    You CAN do what you want to do. The procedure is to restore your image to your new PC, then do a Windows Repair re-installation using the reinstall CD that came with the new PC. I've done it several times successfully.

    + Boot your new PC off the Acronis rescue CD (or install Acronis on the new PC), then restore your image. Don't even TRY to boot it. As others have pointed out, the drivers, etc won't match the new system.

    + Follow the directions at http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315341 (method 2) to do a repair (AKA "upgrade") reinstallation from the new system's Windows CD.

    Hopefully, that will do it - it's worked for me. (You would run into problems if you were trying to do a repair reinstallation with an OLDER version of Windows than the system you're repairing, but that doesn't seem to be your situation.)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.