De-Fingerprinting Chromium

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by joxie, Nov 22, 2016.

1. joxie

joxie Registered Member

My firefox boxes are pretty secure. I've installed many wonderful privacy extensions that mask and obfuscate what my browser transmits.

Recently, linux shortcomings have necessitated the use of chromium on a machine; firefox can't HW accelerate video.
    I'm new to this ecosystem and loaded up on ubock/umatrix and some canvas anti-fingerprinting extension. Its not canvasblocker to say the least so when I run the standard panopticlick/browserleaks/etc I get way too much back.

I've found really old plugins like rubber glove which do an OK job but break site functionality. Is there something else? Preferably something that isn't all or nothing. In FF I could expose flash and disable font detection, change platforms, etc. In chromium I can't even hide system fonts or disable the plethora of linux plugins from showing up. I wanted to try some of the HTTP header editors next but that is no substitute for regular privacy plugins.

Searched and searched but there is very little talk about securing chrome.

2. Socio

Socio Registered Member

There is an extension called Canvas Defender that creates a unique and persistent noise that hides your real canvas fingerprint.

3. Canvas Defender, uBlock Origon, uMatrix, User Agent Switcher. All good plugin's for privacy.

4. guest

guest Guest

:thumb:
    ---
    Regarding changing HTTP headers, referrer, etc.:
    If you add several "privacy"-extensions which modify headers, they can conflict with each other.
    For example if you have two extensions which are changing the referer:
    In general, the chrome API is limited regarding the modifying of headers. As mentioned above, only one extension is allowed to modify it.

If you have several extensions installed which are modifying a referer/header, the last installed extension "wins"

5. Socio

Socio Registered Member