DD10 found no harddisk and unknown drive Z

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by SiriusTom, Jun 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SiriusTom

    SiriusTom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    D
    System: HP Compaq nx6325, 60GB only C:, XP-Home SP2.

    Hi,
    I split my HD in two partitions: C: 25GB and a new D: 35GB with DD10(2.161)

    C: was primary partition. for D: I choose an extended partition with a logical drive.

    After rebooting the new drive D: was created - so long OK.

    But now I have two errors:
    - it is not possible to start DD10 again: "DD10 does not found any harddisk"
    - system has an unknown drive "Z" (RAW filesystem, 0MB)

    !!! is this an known problem o_O
     
  2. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago
  3. SiriusTom

    SiriusTom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    D
    Hi Cortez, thanks for your answer !

    I had already removed the recovery partition before I bought DD10.
    Originally my HP had on drive C: 52GB and on D:8GB recovery.

    I needed the disk space and made two recovery-DVD's. Then I removed the recovery-partition with the 'HP Backup and Recovery Manager'.

    After that I had one "big" partition C: of 60GB.

    Then I bought DD10 to split the drive for a DATA partition D: with the problems see above.

    Tom
     
  4. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago
    SiriusTom: So is it correct for me to assume that you are using a retail XP Home version (either OEM or Boxed)?
     
  5. SiriusTom

    SiriusTom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    D
    Oh no, I have not a XP-retail version.
    XP was pre-installed and HP delivered none(zero) CD/DVD.

    As a HP user you have to create yourself the (2)DVD which can restore the system to the factory default.o_O
     
  6. SiriusTom

    SiriusTom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    D
    here some more info:

    After I had the 2 errors (DD found no hdd, and a mystery drive Z) I made a restore/recovery to factory default.

    I installed DD10 new - it runs ok.

    Then I made all steps exact the same again:
    - remove recovery partition D: (with the HP Tool)
    - split HD (with DD10) => D: as Logical
    with the same result !:(

    I had C: & D: drives as I want, but...
    => after reboot DD10 didn't start(found no hd) and a drive Z appears.

    Tom
     
  7. SiriusTom

    SiriusTom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    D
    I'm online only on weekend.
    I have to work outside the whole week (oh my bad english:)).

    On next friday evening or saturday I will make a next try.
    (remove D: and install it as primary partition like C: )

    I have read something about that in this forum (HP user had also drive Z):D

    but now i have no time to test it...
    Bye Tom
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If you're initiating the procedure from Windows you may want to try the procedure from the rescue cd. It works better that way sometimes.

    Another thing you might try is to not split the C: partition. Instead, use DD to resize the C: partition down to half (or whatever size you want it). Apply that change. Reboot, make sure Windows works correctly, make sure DD sees the drive correctly. Then use DD to create the a new partition in the unallocated space.
     
  9. SiriusTom

    SiriusTom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    D
    @MudCrab (and thank for your ideas)
    I had no rescue CD (bought the online version of DD) and DD10 didn't start anymore to create such a CD with the media builder(I have seen it now in the pdf-manual).

    but it the meantime i have a solution for my two (little) proplems....:cool:
     
  10. SiriusTom

    SiriusTom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    D
    Thank You 137 !!!
    I had the same problem:"DD10 found no HD and und unknown drive Z".
    My Notebook is also an "HP Compaq nx"(but "6325").
    After creating a second partition D: with DD10(2161) as logical drive, I had an unknown drive Z (same as you) and DD10 won't start any more (Error 000101F4 "Keine Festplatte gefunden"/found no hd drive.

    Then I made it as you requested:
    - delete D: drive
    - delete D: partition (all with the build in WinXP tool, because DD didn't start)
    - create new partition D: (for my Data) but as primary
    => the drive Z is gone :D
    => Acronis DD10 starts and run 'ok' (without new installation) :D

    Thank You 137 !!! !!! !!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.