DD full does not detect (e)SATA drives, DD safe does...

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by XIII, Jan 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    451
    My PC has 1 internal SATA drive and I sometimes attach 1 external eSATA drive. Both drives are not detected by the full (Linux) version while they are detected by the safe (DOS) version... The Linux version of the TI2009 trial does detect them.

    How can I make the full version of DD detect my drives? (can I update the kernel?)

    Or, how can I make the safe version of DD run in a higher resolution than the default one and store that setting?

    (Linux runs in hi-res but does not detect drives, DOS runs lo-res but detects drives; I would like to see and manage the contents of my drives in hi-res...)
     
  2. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    451
    Support gave me a new version via LiveChat (still called build 2160, but with _26 additionally) and this one does detect the internal drive connected to the ICH10R controller in my PC in full mode!

    Still have to check the external drive, but it seems like the problem is solved...
     
  3. garymiller

    garymiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Posts:
    44
    I am having some eSATA and SATA issues with OSS in a Windows situation. Can you tell me anymore about what they may have said about this build version with the _26? You are in Linux or using Windows too?

    I am not sure if I know where to kick off a support chat with them if you could help there too. Mudcrab is on it so it may be better than support anyway <gr>.

    Thanks,

    Gary
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Gary,

    Live Chat can be found here.

    The newer build may help you with the eSATA problem. I don't know if it will with the OSS problem or not. I don't have the newer build so I don't know if they made any OSS changes.
     
  5. garymiller

    garymiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Posts:
    44
    Thanks. I may try that tomorrow if you think it would be wise. I'll be away from the machine now until this evening.

    Gary
     
  6. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    451
    The newer build (_26) is an ISO image that only seems to contain the Linux (full) version of DD (no OSS) in bootable format; the disc appears to be "empty" when running Windows XP.

    I've successfully copied the kernel and ramdisk files to my harddisk in order to boot them with grub4dos to run DD without needing a CD/DVD.

    I would be interested in a newer version of OSS if that supports Windows 7, but I did not think about that when chatting...
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Acronis hasn't even released a version of OSS that detects the different versions/configurations of Vista properly. They have stated they plan on releasing a new build of DD 10, but I wouldn't count on it having support for Windows 7.
     
  8. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Paul (MudCrab) could tell you this also, but Grub4DOS can directly boot an iso image. This is a really slick "trick" to use since you can have multiple versions of the Acronis iso image file and boot any of them directly. Here is an example of a Grub4DOS boot stanza:
    Code:
    title	Acronis TI, DD
    map	(hd0,7)/Acronis/ati.iso (hd32)
    map	--hook
    chainloader (hd32)
    Change the (hd0,x) and path as appropriate for your system.
     
  9. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    451
    Mark, thanks for the input. I already discovered that on this board and I have tested it.

    However, my method works better for me, since I can add parameters to the kernel to run DD in a higher resolution (and it needs less disk space),
     
  10. xpxpxp

    xpxpxp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I experienced this with my Dell Vostro laptop which has a sata drive and had to use the safe version of DD. Anyone know the difference between the two versions of DD?
     
  11. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    xpxpxp:

    The "full" version runs Linux and may not contain the latest drivers for newer chipsets. The "safe" version is DOS-based and will work with whatever hardware is supported by your PC BIOS. When working properly the full version will see and connect to a LAN and will support USB devices. The safe version does not support networking and will work with USB devices only if they are supported by the BIOS.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.