DD - boot loader error - problem with using same IDE?

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by birne, Apr 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. birne

    birne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Hi -

    I have created a bootable CD which seems to work fine on several machines except the one that I am trying to fix.

    I have a single IDE that connects both the HDD and DVD-RW.

    The bootable CD boots properly to the DD menu if there is no disk attached to the IDE.
    As soon as I attach a disk the boot manager comes up with the famous "Acronis Loader fatal error: Boot drive (partition) not found." error. It does not matter if it is a new (unformatted / unpartitioned) drive or the original drive.

    Is there a limitation in DD that the DVD/CD-ROM needs to be on an IDE with no disk attached?

    Thanks

    birne
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I'm not familiar with this particular error, but have you tried the safe mode of DD?

    Also you might try setting the CD as the master and the hard drive as the slave and see if it works that way.

    What version of DD are you using? If it's an older version/build, perhaps an update/upgrade would help.
     
  3. birne

    birne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Thank you for your response. It is the latest build of DD and I don't even make it to the boot menu if there is a disk on the IDE channel with the DVD-RW.

    I have swapped master/slave on the IDE channel but it did not yield any results.

    If anyone has any other suggestions I'd be most grateful.

    birne
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You might try creating and using a BartPE boot cd.

    It sounds like you only have one IDE port on the motherboard. Is this correct? If you have another one, have you tried it?

    Do you get any error messages when you boot the computer with the hard drive and dvd drive attached, but without the cd (try and boot from hard drive)?

    Were you previously using OSS on the hard drive?
    What is the BIOS boot order?

    Does your computer support booting from USB? If it does, you might try making a flash drive version of the rescue cd and try that.

    Also, posting the brand/model of motherboard, RAM, and other computer specs might help.
     
  5. birne

    birne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for your comments and for trying to help.

    You are right, I only have 1 IDE channel. The MB is an Intel DG965WH and the optical drive is a Pioneer 111D.

    I have now solved the problem by replacing the IDE drive with a second SATA drive. Probabaly a better solution than having an IDE drive on the same bus with the DVD-RW anyway. But not a cheap one...

    Again, thanks for the assistance!

    birne
     
  6. RTShaw

    RTShaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Port Huron, Mi Usa
    Very smooth, i couldnt help but reply to this thread.. Way 2 go Acronis Team..u stayed on top of this..
    No one can say u weren't trying...
     
  7. melgish

    melgish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida
    WOW! I saw your sig first, and thought "That sounds just like the guy that got me seriously started in programming." Then I saw your user name.

    The forum says the pm system's down, so shoot me an email:

    n + fiorello + @ + yahoo + . + com
     
  8. RTShaw

    RTShaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Port Huron, Mi Usa

    Nick?? Damn this is a small world..Emailing u now
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.