Darn silence

Discussion in 'WormGuard' started by Feivel, Jul 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Feivel

    Feivel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Baytown, TX
    You know what bugs me about WG? I have a registered copy and I have installed the resident protection. Darn thing in combination with Process Guard (also registered) never makes one wave (gives an alert). Every few days I have to open the interface and click on test just to make sure the protection is working. Maybe DiamondCS should install some sort of wave file that activates every 24 hours and lets you know WG is still active and on guard :)
     
  2. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    Good point, Feivel. I occassionally start it up just to make sure it's still enabled and on the job. I like the fact it does not use many (if any) resources. But if an icon could be added to the system tray indicating everything is OK, that would be nice. :)
     
  3. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    I can test WG at any time on my system. How?

    I just try to open System Restore. WG alert pops up everytime. ;)


    snowbound
     
  4. Feivel

    Feivel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Baytown, TX
    All those snowbound days and see what you figure out. You just saved me a mouse click effectively increasing my mouse life by 15% :)
     
  5. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    Doesn't do that for me.
     
  6. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Then it must not be working! :eek:

    Just kidding.... ;)

    I have seen this happen on a few systems.


    snowbound
     
  7. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    It's working, because I've seen a warining pop-up under different circumstances. But when I open the system restore window, I get nothing.
     
  8. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    testfile on your desktop with a double extension. click, WG warning.
     
  9. Moore

    Moore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Posts:
    82
    Location:
    land of ?z
    A simple example test would be to add wmplayer.exe [ or another program .exe file ] to the wormguard blocklist editor or the lockfile.txt in wormguard installation folder ..

    open windows media player , youll get a warning from wormguard.

    remove notepad.exe from blocklist editor or lockfile.txt to finish the test , unless you hate windows media player anyway. :D
     
  10. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    The testfiles i posted on top in the TDS forum will do.
    From the desktop, you get WormGuard warnings and an error, from TDS they run fine. Enjoy!
     
  11. Feivel

    Feivel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Baytown, TX
    DiamondCS - enjoy the sounds of silence on your computer once again :)
     
  12. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Why? don't you like the test files?
     
  13. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    Jooske - I need to modify my last post. Apparently a while back at one point I ran System Restore, and clicked on the Always Allow button. I don't remember doing this - I must have forgotten. :rolleyes: Anyway, I removed System Restore from the Allow list, and now I get a warning. Everything is working GREAT! Thanks. :D
     
  14. Feivel

    Feivel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Baytown, TX
    WHO :)
     
  15. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
  16. Snook

    Snook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Posts:
    182
    The nice thing about WG is that it doesn't use any resources to be effective. Every test file I have run WG has detected! And please, no scheduled sound file to load.
     
  17. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    A quote from WormGuard ;) I'm a quiet unpretentious kinda program but I carry a big stick! :D
     
  18. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    aye.... agree there, I have enough sounds emanating from my system now, sounds like a Pre-Flight Check List on a 747, lol...

    TAS
     
  19. Feivel

    Feivel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Baytown, TX
    No Jooske...I mean who was your response to :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.