cybersecurity slow my mac

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products' started by piranha, Nov 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    i am trying cybersecurity for mac. It slowed more my mac than Nod32 in my old pc. Very strange and bad........

    Snow leopard
    Intel core duo 2.4 Ghz
    1 Gb DDR2

    i will add 2 Gb of memory this week, not only because of Cybersecurity. All apps need more memory by this day but i know Eset security apps to be more light on cpu so i am disappointed.
     
  2. mjboon

    mjboon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    Are you on Cybersecurity 4.0.73.0?

    Am having the performance issue few months back. But the latest release works just find on my MacBook Air with OSX Lion. 4GB RAM


    Cheers
     
  3. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Nice to hear that you got your performance issues solved with the latest release mjboon :thumb:
     
  4. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    yes, it is v4.0.73.0

    it is better now with 3 Gb of memory ;)
     
  5. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    So it wasn't an ECS issue after all ;)

    Yes 1GB is too little for SL, even worse with Lion.
    Ahh I see you can't run Lion because you got a Core Duo Processor :)
     
  6. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    i disagree.

    I run NOD32 since the fantastic 2.7 version. I only remember the v3 in old Pentium 3 733 (XP and 512 Mb memory) didnt run lightly as ECS presently with SL and 1 Gb memory.
     
  7. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I use ESS on a system with Win XP and 512MB of RAM without issues and it works great.

    Though IMO one can't compare XP with SL. Because SL is a fairly new OS and demands more resources than XP, plus XP is 10 years old. So I would say that 2GB is needed for SL to run smoothly.
     
  8. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    nod32 v3 was release in october 2007, in this time XP was not so old....
     
  9. foneil

    foneil Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Posts:
    255
    Location:
    San Diego
    Thank you for following up with the information about the recommended system requirementswe will add the recommended memory requirements for use on Snow Leopard or Lion to our documentation.
     
  10. nonolk

    nonolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Hello Everybody,

    Cybersecurity also slow my mac, and this is something really new for me, with Eset products which were always the best for protection and speed on my pc.
    But since I switched It always slow my mac.

    For example if I download an windows exe file using firefox, then firefox just freeze, the same thing with sophos is just smooth.

    Here are my mac info :
    - Mac pro Mid 2010
    - Core 2 duo @ 2,4 GHz
    - 8 GB of ram
    - OS X 10.7.2
    - Eset Cybersecurity 4.0.76.0

    I hope this can help you to improve the product, because I really want to use my license on my mac, as I'm no more owning a pc.

    Best regards,
    --
    Nonolk.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.