Cyberhawk Freezes

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by fred128, Jan 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fred128

    fred128 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Posts:
    152
    The new upgrade to Zonealarm Internet Security Suite will not work with Cyberhawk. The computer completely freezes. I had to uninstall Cyberhawk in order for everything to come back to normal. I hope Cyberhawk can overcome this because it's a very good program to have.
     
  2. mhallerman

    mhallerman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Posts:
    180
    Pretty much the same with me - I could not reliably shut down without it just not shutting down or "freezing" until I uninstalled CH v2.

    Disappointed. I tried two install rounds and same results each time here.
     
  3. Cyberhawk Support

    Cyberhawk Support Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    Thanks for reporting this. We're checking in to this issue and we'll keep you posted as to what we find.

    Becky Dubrow
     
  4. fred128

    fred128 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Posts:
    152
    Becky,
    Thanks for trying to find a way around this. This is a disappointment for me because Cyberhawk fills in a big gap. I put a ticket in at your site to make sure you saw this but I guess it wasn't necessary. Please keep us updated on this problem. I want Cyberhawk back.
     
  5. Cyberhawk Support

    Cyberhawk Support Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    After looking into this conflict further we believe we have discovered what is causing it. Unfortunately there's no current workaround that we can suggest, but we'll be working on a fix to incorporate into a future release.

    Thanks again for pointing this out to us right away!

    Becky
     
  6. fred128

    fred128 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Posts:
    152
    Becky,
    I'm sure your very disappointed to find this. For all of our sakes, hopefully a workaround will be found soon.
     
  7. fred128

    fred128 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Posts:
    152
    Becky

    Hi Becky,
    I hope this question doesn't put you on the spot. Have you found a workaround for Cyberhawk and ZoneAlarm 7? If it's not possible then so be it but I'm hoping.
     
  8. Cyberhawk Support

    Cyberhawk Support Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    Re: Becky

    Hi Fred--

    Unfortunately there is no workaround available and at this point it looks like we will not be able to address the trouble until our next update (hopefully coming out in a couple of weeks). We do of course understand that Zone Alarm is a very popular program, so we're doing everything we can to get this taken care of quickly.

    We did post a notice in our online Knowledge Base the other day after this was discovered:

    I have ZoneAlarm 7.0, when I install Cyberhawk Windows hangs, Crashes or freezes.
    We have discovered there is a conflict with the two programs and Development is looking into the issue. It's not clear which program is at fault and hopefully we'll have a resolution soon. Unfortunately there isn't a work around for at this time, you'll have to choose one or the other for the time being.

    We apologize for any inconvenience this causes.​

    Wish I had better news!

    Becky Dubrow
     
  9. fred128

    fred128 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Posts:
    152
    Thanks for responding, Becky. So far, this has to be very disappointing for a lot of people and for Cyberhawk.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.