Crystal Security - Discussion

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by kardokristal, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. chipo

    chipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Spain
    I'm sorry, I hadn't enough time lately.

    Could you send me the language file to translate, please?
     
  2. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Kardo,
    Using 3.2.0.85 as you know. I've just done a routine 'check up' and I noticed that the white list has been reset to zero after CS started in 'check up' mode. So now the overview has 324 entries and the whitelisting has begun again and is presently at 3.
    Is this another bug ?
    regards
    Gordon
     
  3. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi,

    Dont't worry. ;)

    The plan is to add "Translation mode" into next Beta version. Translation mode = The ability to translate in real time.
    I'll let you know if "Translation mode" feature is implemented.

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  4. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi Gordon,

    Thank you for your feedback.

    Hmm...it is very strange because I do not have this problem (tried a variety of situations).

    The data storage structure is heavily updated in next Beta version (hopefully, these situations do not occur anymore).
    "Import" and "Export" support for each section (Overview, Whitelist,...) will be also added.

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  5. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for your response Kardo.

    Gordon
     
  6. Kardo,

    Using Crystal Security as medium level (portable) application. Intrusion Detection Mode works fine for default folders, addedfolders don't seem to be guarded by Crystal. Could be because I run Crystal as non-elevated process (not signed).

    Regards Kees
     
  7. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi Kees,

    Hmm, no issues here... if possible please specify added folder location. Thanks.

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  8. Kardo, I think what caused the problem, change was not applied:

    When I add a folder to watch, the apply button greys out.

    When you switch back to paranoid, the folders are cleared from the multiple list box

    Maybe to minor GUI quirks?
     
  9. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi Kees,

    Thanks for the feedback. :thumb:

    Hmm.. after the folder is added, the "Apply" button greys out automatically?
    - This behavior (button greys out) should be activated only after the "Apply" button is pressed..

    Please try to change any setting - the "Apply" button should be active (clickable) again.

    Behavior confirmed and will be fixed. Thanks!

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  10. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
  11. Kardo, two questions

    a) Any chance you release a signed version?

    b) Could you add Internet Explorer internet files (is also location of Outlook OLK files) to the folders watched by Crystal Security :
    %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files

    Thx for the bug fixes, folders no longer diappear when I switch modes. Greyed out apply is also available, but changes are erased as soon as I press Apply (only default folders are kept).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 28, 2014
  12. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi Kees,

    Sorry about late reply.

    Yeah, it is possible.. I've been thinking about it lately. ;)

    Absolutely! Thanks for the suggestion. :thumb:

    Bug confirmed and will be fixed.

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  13. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
    How can I submit undetected samples?
     
  14. Pedersen

    Pedersen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Posts:
    234
    How long till the new beta is ready?

    BTW I know a lot like the portable feature but I would like a version that installs like normal. Any plans regarding this? (It somehow just make me feel safer)
     
  15. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
    Can you add these extensions to the default list?

    .pif
    .scr
    .com
    .cmd
    .cpl
    .7z
     
  16. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi,

    Submission will be added for internal database (next beta cycle). ;)

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  17. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi,

    Takes a little more time.. sorry.. official workload is high.. I hope to get more free time for the program. :)

    Yeah, installer will be added to the next version of the beta (3.5). ;)

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  18. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    Yes.. but without .7z because archives may contain sensitive information (unknown => upload situation).
    Thank you for your suggestion! :thumb:

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  19. phalanaxus

    phalanaxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Posts:
    509
    Hi,
    Any update on new beta cycle?
     
  20. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi,

    I'm sorry for the delay..
    Next beta version should be ready in two to three weeks (may take longer).

    I'll post immediately when a new version is ready for testing. ;)

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  21. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hello everyone,

    I'm sorry that the new beta version is going to take so long...
    I need a little more time to get some basic functionality in place..
    I believe that in a few weeks (or even before) I can upload next BETA version for public..

    Here are some updated screenshots of next BETA version.

    1. Updated Settings panel
    - added background colors for titles (General,...)

    [​IMG]

    2. Notification
    - auto-decision is enabled

    [​IMG]

    Please tell me your thoughts. :)

    Regards,
    Kardo
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838

    Kardo, you sure have come a long way

    The functionality, as well as the GUI looks very nice

    You have gotten really good at this

    Keep it up :)
     
  23. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hi,

    Thank you for your kind words! :)

    Regards,
    Kardo
     
  24. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
    Then you should remove .rar. and .zip as well.
     
  25. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
    fp.PNG

    It seems each file never seen by VT has 100 threat score... This one is just a harmless text file.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.