CryptoSuite/Cacheman incompatible?

Discussion in 'Other Ghost Security Software' started by Q Section, May 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Yesterday CryptoSuite was downloaded and installed on this computer and only the benchmark portion of the program was run (and results posted). No problems appeared. At the end of the work day the computer is turned off. Today upon restarting the computer there were multiple crashes of Explorer, Cacheman, an unnamed program involving "Chameleon Button" (!??) and another program (forgot name). The only changes done in the last few days were installation of CryptoSuite (again without utilising any protection capabilities).

    Next the computer was restarted several times and scandisk was run automatically each time. Crashes continued each time most notably with the program Cacheman.

    Finally we were able to get to msconfig and simply removed CryptoSuite from the Startup list. Rebooted again and everything booted up correctly with no crashes.

    Does anyone use 98SE and Cacheman with CryptoSuite?
     
  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi again!
    No cacheman here, not sure what the program is either.
    Several things might be possible:
    too many things trying to start at the same time and CryptoSuite was just one too much for good old Win98.
    So keep it from the autostart and start it manually when you need it.
    Several more programs like TDS and Port Explorer you will like to start manually after the reboot startups all have finished and also then TDS apart from all the othjers so it can use full "bandwidth" on your system to speedup the scanning.
    On the XP/2000/NT systems people can finetune the startup and delaying a few to spread that a bit, on win98 we would need other programs like wintasks for that, or just start them manually.
    If you have cacheman running and start CryptoSuite, do you get any errors?
     
  3. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Hello Jooske

    We have started it just now and find absolutely no problems and no crashes after all the other programs have started! You must be right about too many programs trying to start at once! :p
    Cacheman is a memory management application for Windows as we all know Windows cannot manage memory very well at all. You can get information here.

    Jooske - are you going to post the Benchmark results for your 98SE?

    Be seeing you
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2004
  4. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    I don't see how CryptoSuite could be the causes of those crashes, but on Windows 9x small things like too many programs loading on startup can cause problems. CryptoSuite only comes into action when you run the program or right click on a file in Explorer, so unless you were doing one of those two things I can't see how CryptoSuite could be a problem.

    However I think Jooske experienced some problems with the CryptoSuite startup banner once or twice, removing that might help.

    -Jason-
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.