Crisis- SMART predicts hard disk failure...need help with backup

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by abhi_mittal, Aug 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. abhi_mittal

abhi_mittal Registered Member

When I am switching on my notebook, it says that SMART technology is predicting the failure of my hard disk. Please backup.

Please help me. I want to know which is the best free backup software so that I can backup my hard disk on CDs.

Please...this is very urgent.
    :oops:

2. abhi_mittal

abhi_mittal Registered Member

Please guide me with the software...and if possible do let me know the instructions for backing up my HDD.
    Please respond fast.
    I will really appreciate your help.

3. wj smith

wj smith Guest

I'm not a complete expert but I've heard Acronis True Image is a good program for backing up your entire hard drive. But whatever you decide to use you'll need something to back it up to, like another hard drive, cd's or dvd's.

Depending on how much data you have on your hard drive it could take quite a few cd's or dvd's, so I would think with the low cost of hard drives these days, it would probably be a good idea to use a second hard drive for your backups.

Actually, since you seem to be needing a new hard drive anyway why not use True Image to simply copy your current hard drive to the new hard drive.

Also most hard drive's nowadays are capable of doing this without the need for another program like True Image, so you can do it that way too. When you get the new hard drive, the instructions that come with it should explain how to transfer the data from your current drive to the new one. Hth.

4. Close_Hauled

Close_Hauled Registered Member

abhi_mittal,

I duplicate/backup laptop drives all the time with Norton Ghost. You can use Acronis as well, they are both good programs. The fastest way to do this is to use a desktop PC and 2 brackets from StarTech.com: