Creative Audigy Sound Blaster, Sounds Better on Vista!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by DVD+R, Feb 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    I just downloaded the New Drivers for My Creative Audigy 2 ZS Sound Blaster,and installed them to my Vista Machine, I have Creative Audigy 2 ZS with a PCI Sound Card and Logitech Z-680THZ 5.1 Surround Sound Speakers, and they Blew Me away with the Awesome Sound Quality on Vista :cool: They sounded good on XP, but Wow! This Rocks!!! :cool:
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i didnt think there was any creative drivers for there sound cards on vista yet...
    ive got the same sound card
    lodore
     
  3. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I believe that virtually any audio hardware sounds better on Vista than on XP...Possibly due to new driver model and quality control.
     
  4. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    Are you sure about that ?
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    nice acticle
    I like the "creative (and other) are naturally pissed":D
    lodore
     
  6. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Are you using analog or digital connections?
     
  7. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    I like to know what drivers you are using because my Audigy 4 7.1 sounds like it is coming from a bottom of a well, lol.
     
  8. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    I think this is more of a placebo effect then anything (vista won't sound as good, drivers aren't completely ready, and drm limits the quality in order to prevent copying)

    Alphalutra1
     
  9. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
  10. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Analog, Digital is more expensive
     
  11. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    have you played any of the games mentioned?
    and if so how do they sound?
    lodore
     
  13. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    For general games that use DirectSound, Vista should in fact be better in quality. But no EAX, and thats the real bummer. Plus, no hardware acceleration, which means all surround sound and Sensaura algorithms go down the drain.

    Basically, what you're getting is two-channel audio upmixed to 6 speakers, sounds real good, but loses the surround effect.
     
  14. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    I fixed my sound problem by replacing the Audigy 4 with a X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro. Using Alchemy I now have EAX in COD2 and in Quake 4 using OpenAL. I did have problems at first with the speaker test failing but moving the card to another slot fixed it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.