Creating Linux Raid 1 image with TI Linux Server 9.1

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by SyRenity, May 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SyRenity

    SyRenity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Hi.

    I downloaded a trial of TI 9.1 Linux Server to give it a try. Our server is headless, without GUI installation, so the only way to clone it is using trueimagecmd command. Also, we have a software RAID 1, from 2 disks.

    When I'm running trueimagecmd --list, I'm receiving the following information:

    Num Partition Flags Start Size Type
    ---- -------------------- ----------- ---------- ---------- -----------
    Disk 1:
    1-1 sda1 Pri,Act 63 208782 Ext3
    1-2 sda2 Pri 208845 4192965 Linux Swap
    1-3 sda3 Pri 4401810 386315055 Ext3
    Disk 2:
    2-1 sdb1 Pri,Act 63 208782 Ext3
    2-2 sdb2 Pri 208845 4192965 Linux Swap
    2-3 sdb3 Pri 4401810 386315055 Ext3
    Dynamic Volumes:
    md0 208640 Ext3
    md1 4192768 Linux Swap
    md2 386314880 Ext3


    The question is, what exactly I should backup (disk or partition), to have a fully working image, which can be restored via the Rescue CD?

    Also, can I create the image on the cloned drive itself, or I have to use a remote NFS drive?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. SyRenity

    SyRenity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Hi.

    I got the answer for the 2nd question, by an experiment :). Seems as you have to create the image on a separate drive or media, which is quite logical.

    But the first question, what to clone, is still unclear. Has anyone ever tried to clone a Linux software RAID 1, and then restored it successfully?

    If TI 9.1 manages to remotely clone headless servers with RAID 1, then it indeed priceless, and I will consider purchasing a license.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello SyRenity,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Linux Server Disk Backup Software.

    We are very sorry for the delay with the response.

    First of all, please note that there are two approaches available:

    Clone Disk - copies the entire contents of one disk drive to another;

    Backup\Create Image - creates a special archive file for backup and disaster recovery purposes;

    Please take a look at this FAQ article explaining the difference between Clone Disk and Backup\Create Image approaches in more detail.

    Actually, Clone Disk approach is usually used to upgrade the hard drive (e.g. install a larger disk), while Backup\Create Image approach is basically dedicated for the complete data backup and disaster recovery purposes. As you are interested in backing up your hard drive for the disaster recovery purposes, we recommend that you follow Backup approach, i.e. create a disk\partition image saving it to any type of the supported media. In case of the system crash you will need to boot your server from Acronis True Image 9.1 Server for Linux Bootable Rescue CD and just restore the image. Moreover, the current version of Acronis True Image 9.1 Server for Linux allows cloning from the graphical interface only. In other words, disk cloning can not be done using the command line interface.

    As for backing up dynamic volumes, there is one thing I should draw your attention to. The point is that the current build (3563) of Acronis True Image 9.1 Server for Linux shows dynamic volumes as an additional drive, i.e. in your case the list will be as follows:

    Disk 1:
    1-1 sda1 Pri,Act 63 208782 Ext3
    1-2 sda2 Pri 208845 4192965 Linux Swap
    1-3 sda3 Pri 4401810 386315055 Ext3
    Disk 2:
    2-1 sdb1 Pri,Act 63 208782 Ext3
    2-2 sdb2 Pri 208845 4192965 Linux Swap
    2-3 sdb3 Pri 4401810 386315055 Ext3
    Disk 3
    Dynamic Volumes:
    3-1 md0 208640 Ext3
    3-2 md1 4192768 Linux Swap
    3-3 md2 386314880 Ext3

    However, this does not affect Acronis True Image 9.1 Server for Linux functionality in any way and you still can backup your dynamic volumes.

    Please also note that this issue will be fixed in the next build of Acronis True Image 9.1 Server for Linux.

    You can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image 9.1 Server for Linux in the respective User's Guide.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.