Creating image backups...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by cdplayer, Oct 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cdplayer

    cdplayer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Must I shutdown the OS (XP) in order to create an image backup?
    Can I create an image backup with the OS running?

    Thanks! :oops:
     
  2. mark3

    mark3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    188
    No

    Yes. That's the beauty of TI. Just launch it and follow the steps to create an image. Some people recommend not using the computer while the image is being created but I have surfed the net during the process with no adverse effect.

    If you have a spare disk then I suggest that you try a restore of your created image to it. Sometimes even a verified image does not restore correctly.

    By the way, when you restore, use the Recovery disk rather than restore from Windows.
     
  3. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    While some create their backups from within Windows and some actually continue using the computer while the backup is in process, I think that is asking for trouble. Since the Bootable Rescue CD can do the task in a non-windows environment, to me, that is the way to go. Sooner or later there will be a Windows update that will interfere with the backup process if you do it in Windows. The thing is you will not know that the backup file is no good until you try to Restore it - and then it may be too late.
     
  4. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    I don't share your paranoia :)

    See
    http://www.acronis.com/enterprise/resource/tech-talk/2003/disk-imaging-2-technology.html

    Each to their own.

    F.
     
  5. cdplayer

    cdplayer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    In the recent past I have been shutting down my computer and doing an Image Backup that way. That is what I am currently comfortable doing. BUT it is good to know that my on-line Image Backups should be good.

    Thank you mark3 :cool: for answering my question. Thank you Ralphie and foghorne :thumb: for the supplemental comments. I found your thoughts to be valuable!

    Cheers!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.