Creating Disk/Drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by BChat, Dec 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    My OS is XP SP2 - I have 3 HDs
    disk 0 = C: OS XP
    disk 1 = D: a clone of C, that I disable in Setup after periodic clones
    disk 2 = X: my files and 80gb free space in the 2nd partition

    I want to create a disk/drive in the free space so I can clone C: to it using ATI 10, as I do C: > D:

    What do I have to do to get the 80gb free space recognized as a Destination Hard Disk? I do not want to lose the Primary Partition (12.5gb) X: on the drive.

    TIA and Happy Holidays to all :)
    BChat
     
  2. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    If I understand you correctly you have on your X drive an 80GB unallocated space as well as a 12.5GB Primary Partition. You want to clone your C: drive to this 80GB unallocated space. I'm afraid that is not possible. You can only clone your C: drive to another drive. You can create a partition out of that unallocated space, format the partition NTFS and create on that partition one or more images of your C: drive.
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,456
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  4. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    Thanks for the replies. Sounds like cloning might be best left for sheep, cattle, and a low fat, no calorie, hot fudge sundae.
    I shall look at the ''image'' idea. Thanks again for getting me started in the right direction.
    :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,456
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    What a great description. I'll remember that.
     
  6. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    Works for me - especially the sundae thing --- :D

    1 last question and I am off to ''image''.

    An IMAGE is created by using the Backup Wizard - since an IMAGE and a BACKUP are the same thing - yes? no? are you nuts?
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,456
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Image, backup image, image backup, recovery point. All the same thing.
     
  8. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    thanks Brian for your help - next cloned no fat sundae is yours -;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.