Creating Disk/Drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by BChat, Dec 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    My OS is XP SP2 - I have 3 HDs
    disk 0 = C: OS XP
    disk 1 = D: a clone of C, that I disable in Setup after periodic clones
    disk 2 = X: my files and 80gb free space in the 2nd partition

    I want to create a disk/drive in the free space so I can clone C: to it using ATI 10, as I do C: > D:

    What do I have to do to get the 80gb free space recognized as a Destination Hard Disk? I do not want to lose the Primary Partition (12.5gb) X: on the drive.

    TIA and Happy Holidays to all :)
    BChat
     
  2. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    If I understand you correctly you have on your X drive an 80GB unallocated space as well as a 12.5GB Primary Partition. You want to clone your C: drive to this 80GB unallocated space. I'm afraid that is not possible. You can only clone your C: drive to another drive. You can create a partition out of that unallocated space, format the partition NTFS and create on that partition one or more images of your C: drive.
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  4. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    Thanks for the replies. Sounds like cloning might be best left for sheep, cattle, and a low fat, no calorie, hot fudge sundae.
    I shall look at the ''image'' idea. Thanks again for getting me started in the right direction.
    :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    What a great description. I'll remember that.
     
  6. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    Works for me - especially the sundae thing --- :D

    1 last question and I am off to ''image''.

    An IMAGE is created by using the Backup Wizard - since an IMAGE and a BACKUP are the same thing - yes? no? are you nuts?
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Image, backup image, image backup, recovery point. All the same thing.
     
  8. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    thanks Brian for your help - next cloned no fat sundae is yours -;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.