Creating bootable resque DVD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by PekunZip, Feb 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PekunZip

    PekunZip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Hello guys!

    I've tried to create boot DVD with Acronis Trueimage. However it ain't work.
    Error message is "Error burning bootable CD-R/CD-RW" when I try to "Create Bootable Rescue Media".

    Is it so that you cannot create bootable DVD? o_O
     
  2. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    There is another topic here devoted to just that: creating a Rescue DVD. Do a search for it. I don't have the link handy.
     
  3. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello PekunZip,

    I'm afraid TI can't burn the rescue media to DVD.

    It seems somewhat wasteful to use a DVD for just 28MB of data. However, the thread Chutsman refers to, titled <How to create bootable rescue DVD(s):>, provides instructions on how to combine the rescue media plus the image file onto DVD(s). You can either use wdormanns original WinISO + special combined CDShell/CDW procedure in Post #1, my modified version in Post #26 that only uses WinISO + the latest version of BCDW or my UltraISO version in Post #171. All three procedures work with TI 8 or TI 9.

    If you really are intent on wasting 4GB of usable space on the DVD then just omit the .tib image files from the DVD compilation :D.

    Regards
     
  4. PekunZip

    PekunZip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Yeayeayea, I know it's waste of disk space to use DVD. I have special reason to do that: my pc has both CD and DVD drive. Unfortunately my PC's bios does not recognize CD as a bootable drive. Only DVD drive is possible to configure as bootable drive. :doubt: (I wonder if there is workaround to solve this strange issue...)

    Well, DVD disk is not so expensive that I wouldn't use it to resolve my bootable media problem.

    But anyway thank's for the tip!
     
  5. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Aha! All has become clear :).

    Good luck if you try the workaround linked above and let us know how you got on.

    Regards
     
  6. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    I have a floppy that I got from playing with Linux at one point. It boots and then gives a menu that lets you try to boot from any device. If your cd drive is on the menu it will work. This was created for systems that had trouble setting CMOS to boot from CD. I use it on an older system so I do not have to play with the CMOS.



     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.