Creating an image of a DL380G4, RAID1

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by CypherBit, Nov 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CypherBit

CypherBit Registered Member

I've experimented with Acronis True Image Workstation before, but never used the server and am a bit hesitant to do so since I have limited (no) experience.

Here's what I want to do. I have a HP DL380G4 in RAID 1 with two SCSI HDDs (NTFS) and I want to make an image of it. The other partitions don't interest me in this case. The OS is Win2k3 R2.

I only need to do this once (well not frequent at all to begin with). So my idea was to download the free trial, make a rescue disk then make an image. These are the questions that come to mind:

- what should I keep an eye on so I don't mess this up,
    - how much different is it to make an image of a RAID 1 compared to imaging a simple XP workstation,
    - if I don't buy the software will I be able to recover the image I created, using the rescue disk I created at any time or will it somehow expire,
    - are the controllers used on this server of any importance when performing this operation,
    - how much better if at all is it to make an image using Bart PE instead of making an image of a live system using the installed software (which resides on the same partition),
    - what else should I know before making a full image of that C:\ partition.

Thank you in advance to anyone who can help me out.

2. CypherBit

Can anyone help me out, at least answering some of my questions?

3. ashler

ashler Registered Member

I can't answer all of your questions but here are the ones I know.

1) Trial software. I'm not sure If the rescue disk you create will be good when you need it.

2) I've backed up RAID drives before. It really does not matter because it backs up the partition as windows reports it. You could back up a partition that is on a raid5 (as an example) and restore it to a single disk.