Create booteable Rescue Media

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by JJB, May 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JJB

    JJB Guest

    First of all sorry for my english.

    I have a booteable disk, and but is impossible to start a PC, always start Windows 2000 Server and not Acronis Disk.

    Please any idea?

    Jaime
     
  2. PaulB2005

    PaulB2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Posts:
    525
    Make sure you have changed the BIOS to boot from the CD First.
     
  3. JJB

    JJB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    This option is OK in the Server
     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Jamie,

    Thanks for you Private Message. For the benefit of other users, it's probably best we continue our dialogue via this thread.

    Did you create the bootable rescue CD whilst running True Image or are you trying to boot from a retail version of the True Image installation disk?

    Are you using an internal or external CD/DVD drive? If external, how is it connected; USB or Firewire?

    Are you able to boot your server from some other bootable CD such as your original Windows installation CD?

    Regards
     
  5. JJB

    JJB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Hi,

    1. I create the bootable rescue CD while running True Image.

    2. I am use interna CD/DVD drive.

    3. I am able to boot with the disk report "AcronisReport.exe"

    thnks and brgds
    Jaime
     
  6. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi Jaime,

    O.K.

    O.K.

    As far as I'm aware, the "AcronisReport.exe" utility creates a bootable floppy disk not CD. We need to confirm that your Win2K server can in fact boot from a known bootable CD (e.g. Windows Installation Disk). Please clarify.

    Regards
     
  7. JJB

    JJB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Tom

    I will do this as soon as possible, and I will tell you something about this.


    Brgds
    Jaime
     
  8. JJB

    JJB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Tom

    I think that the problem is that this Server can't boot from a known bootable CD, because I can to boot with floopy disk create with Acronis (seven disks), but when finish the last disk, I can seen a screen of Acronis that say :

    "Loading, please wait"

    And not continue.

    Brgds
    Jaime
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Jaime,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    First of all, let's find out whether you are able to boot the computer with CD in general. Could you please let us know the results of what Menorcaman proposed you to do (i.e. boot from the Windows Installation CD)? After that we will investigate the problem with floppies.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  10. hdbrown

    hdbrown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Hi Ilya:

    I am having the same problem as Jaime with respect to TrueImage Rescue on floppies. Namely, the sequence of (in my case 6) floppies seems to be read OK, but after the last floppy is read, the message "Loading, please wait..." appears and the system hangs.

    The system on which this occurs is an HP-Kayak XU workstation with dual processors and SCSI hard disks running the Windows 2000 (service pack 4) OS.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Hal
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello hdbrown,

    Please make sure Acronis Bootable Floppies is created with the latest build (826) of Acronis True Image. If so please try the "acpi=off noapic" workaround and if it doesn't help please create sysinfo.txt and send it to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread (please see https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=55317 for the detailed instructions)

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.