create bootable rescure disk on usb drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by MajorDisaster, Oct 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MajorDisaster

    MajorDisaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    hi I'm getting these errors when trying to create the rescure disk on my usb thumb drive. please take a look at these pics 1 of them says i don't have enough space left and that's not true there isn't anything on it. it's a "Adata 4gb usb thumb drive" thanks for any help

    http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/9217/gfhfgh1tt3.th.jpg
    http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/7527/untitled2qm5.th.jpg
    http://img166.imageshack.us/img166/8095/untitled31vo1.th.jpg
    http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/6418/untitled1pb0.th.jpg
     
  2. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Hi MajorDisaster,

    are you sure there is not another removable disk attached to your computer?
    are you sure that your 4GB usb drive is not partitioned?

    F.
     
  3. MajorDisaster

    MajorDisaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    yeah i'm sure there isn't another removable disk attached, and yes the 4GB usb drive is partitioned to a FAT32 sorry i didn't know that mattered or i would of mentioned it. If that matters how would i get it to work with Acronis. thanks
     
  4. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Hi MajorDisaster,

    first of all, if you do get as far as creating the rescue disk, I believe it has to be FAT (not FAT32) in order to boot.

    Secondly, the only reason I mentioned partitions is that is quite common to see flash disks partitioned into one small partition and one large partition. If you are directing you rescue builder at a smaller partition than you think you would get out of space errors.

    F.
     
  5. MajorDisaster

    MajorDisaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    I don't even get as far as to create the boot disk i get those errors while trying to create it.
    Iv tried partions fat. fat32 and ntfs
     
  6. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    ....and you only have a single partition on your usb stick?

    Can you post a screen shot of the 'boot media selection' dialogue where you are about to select the usb stick, and a screen shot of 'My Computer' in file explorer showing the sizes of all your available disks.

    There is something strange happening here.

    F.
     
  7. MajorDisaster

    MajorDisaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    yes only one partition here are the screenshots.

    http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/4836/untitledhc5.th.jpg
    http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/3254/clipboard01gr4.th.jpg
     
  8. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2006
  9. MajorDisaster

    MajorDisaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    haha well that worked :) thanks man i really appreciate your help.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.