Create Bootable Rescue Media

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by NielN, Sep 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NielN

    NielN Guest

    I also had some problems with creating a bootable Rescue Media. I tried starting out with the blank disk in the drive, and TI9 just gives error messages when trying to create the disk. Similar problem with the tray closed and no media in the tray. It only works if the try is open and then you insert media THEN click on Proceed.

    Other people have had problems with this and had to ask questions. Acronis--it would be good if you could fix this problem (allow it to already have blank media in the drive with the drive closed). If you can't fix it, the next best thing would be to provide some better instructions on the screen when beginning this disk creation that you need to have the tray open before proceeding.

    Thanks
    N
     
  2. yanger

    yanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    I too, am having that issue... ATI9 will not let me create a cd-r bootable at all (on dvd+rw drive)... hopefully this will be fixed soon :)
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello NielN and yanger,

    Probably this problem was caused by your burning software. It blocks Acronis True Image CD burning software. We recommend you to update third party CD writing software if any to the latest version available for free on its respective web site. If this does not help, please try the following workaround.

    - Eject any disc from the burner prior to starting the program;
    - Proceed until the program asks for a disc;
    - Insert a disc and then click the OK button to close the tray automatically.

    Please also note that you should use a blank unformatted CD-R or CD-RW in order to create a bootable rescue disc

    If the problem remains please contact us via e-mail support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  4. yanger

    yanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Just to note, i've tried this on 2 PCs both fail... Next up is to disable the windows xp burning...

    Now, I noticed that the program starts up the cdrecord program... is there a commandline we can type to do this manually? there must be an iso image somewhere?

    Dave
     
  5. yanger

    yanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Third PC's a charm ;)

    but... the drive was a standard CD-RW... does this mean, that Acronis TI9 has issues with DVD-Burner drives and CD-media? My first PC had a NEC DVD Burner (ND-2500A) in it, on the 2nd PC, it had a HP DVD Burner (forgot what model)... the third pc had a Samsung CD-RW drive...

    oh, to note, all the PCs had Windows XP Home Edition (except the first PC, had Pro) all have SP2, and Nero installed..
     
  6. yanger

    yanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Nope, all 3 PCs had Ahead Nero installed, so this probability is out...

    I actually had the disc in then started the program, and it worked on the 3rd PC, the other 2 DVD burner PCs did not work either way..

    the discs I used were blank Memorex unformatted CD-Rs (700MB, Black/Red) .. i didn't know you could pre-format CD-Rs ;\

    I will have to contact you guys later when I get home :) this is thread #564339, yes?
     
  7. herojig

    herojig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    Kathmandu Nepal
    Hi all, I think Irina is right about this, as I had this problem until disabling InCD service, which is packet-writing for Nero. (Don't uninstall it, unless you want to ruin your Nero burning system!) After doing this, I was able to create CD-RWs using ATI on my Sony DRU-700a burner. Good luck!
    jigs
    Ps. To read all about InCD problems, see this thread:
    About 42 hours of reading...
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2005
  8. NielN

    NielN Guest

    The point was that I finally got it to work on my system, but I had to go to a help forum to find out how to make it work. The point is that this needs to be improved (to allow the media to be already present), or for the program to provide clearer instructions on the screen.

    You have to start out with no media in the drive. You have to start out with the drive tray open. You have to put the media in and close the tray when the program says to insert media.

    I know this now, but most people would not figure this out, because it's quite different from using the burner normally.

    There's room for improvement.

    N
     
  9. yanger

    yanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Unfortunately, I have found no fixes for this issue on my drive yet - but I've got it working on the one drive already (non-DVD burner) so for now, I'll work with what I have.. I'll be contacting support though, so it can be resolveable in the future :)
     
  10. NielN

    NielN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Sorry, I mean you have to put the disk in the drive, with drawer open, and click proceed, and the program will close the drawer for you. That's the only way that worked for me.

    N
     
  11. dobbelina

    dobbelina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    54
    Instead of having these headaches with the writing of the disk, it
    would be much better if TI created an ISO that the user can burn by themself......
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello everyone,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    If you encounter a problem when trying to create Bootable Rescue CD using Acronis True Image then please make sure that you use the latest build of Acronis True Image which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    If the problem still persists with the latest build of Acronis True Image then please try to use next tips in order to solve this problem:

    - Eject any disc from the burner prior to starting the application;

    - Proceed until the program asks for a disc and open the tray;

    - Insert a disc and then click the OK button to close the tray automatically as well.

    If that doesn't help then I would also recommend you to update third party CD writing software if any to the latest version available for free on its respective web site.

    Please also note that you should use a blank unformatted CD-R or CD-RW in order to create a bootable rescue disc.

    If nothing of the above helps then please also try to create Bootable Rescue CD in Windows Safe Mode.

    If the problem still persists then please create an account, then log in and submit a request for technical support. Describe the issue and provide the information about your purchase of Acronis software (order number, e-mail, where did you purchase our product, etc.) along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2005
  13. NielN

    NielN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Alexey,

    On the third step of your standardized reply to this problem, you might want to change it to say "Insert a disc and then click the PROCEED button to close the tray automatically as well."

    At least on my program, when it asks for blank media to be inserted, it the button says PROCEED.

    Even better would be for Acronis to fix the problem or improve the instructions on the screen to make it clear what to do.

    N
     
  14. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428
    No success here. *puppy*
     
  15. CWTay

    CWTay Guest

    Acronis True Image 9.0 ver2323

    Error message received trying to create Rescue Boot CD: Error burring to bootable CD-R/CD-RW

    The work around:
    1.Open CD drive and put in blank CD (brand not an issue). Leave the CD drive open, DO NOT CLOSE.
    2. Go through the steps to create “Create Bootable Rescue Media”. When you come to the instruction to insert CD just click on “Proceed” since the drive should be open with a CD in it.
    3.The drive will close and the burn process will start and complete without the error message, just give it a little time it’s slow.

    I tested the Rescue Disk and it work just fine
     
  16. lucartl

    lucartl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Posts:
    16
    Hi there,

    what about if you're using a laptopo_O?
     
  17. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello CWTay,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Sharing your experience is very much appreciated.

    If you have any further experience to share, please feel free to post it on this forum.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  18. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello lucartl,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    If none of the above posted suggestions help then please contact us in the way described in my post #12. We will certainly try to help you.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  19. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello lucartl,

    I assume you are refering to slot loading CD/DVD recorders, in which case you are correct - the above precedure can't be used. However, there are a few other things you could try:

    1. If using Roxio Drag-to-Disk software, temporarily disable it when creating the TI boot rescue CD.
    2. If using Windows XP and third party drag-and-drop UDF packet writing software, e.g. Nero InCD or Roxio Drag-to-Disk, there is no need to retain Windows XP's built in CD recording facility. Open "My Computer" right click on your CD/DVD recorder and select "Properties". Click on the "Recording" tab and uncheck the tickbox marked "Enable CD recording on this drive".
    3. If neither of the above workarounds help then boot into Windows "SAFE" mode and try creating the rescue CD from there.

    Regards
     
  20. Tea_J

    Tea_J Guest

    Just wana give my inputs..

    tried all the things suggested on this thread and finally one thing worked for me.

    exactly how it happened for me.. FINALLY!!!!
     
  21. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
    Consider using CD-RW disks instead of CD-R if you don't want to keep a stack of older build CDs.
    Also, you won't be wasting a disk if there is an error during disk creation.
    Since Acronis has a policy of frequent releases of new builds, you can reuse the CD-RW for a later build. If you really need to go back to an earlier build you can always recreate it if you keep each of the build release programs on your hard drive.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.