Create bootable rescue cd

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by killuminati, Oct 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. killuminati

    killuminati Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Hi everybody

    I used to make backup with Ghost but then I tried a trial version of True Image 10, liked it and bought it.

    I followed Menorcaman tutorial to make a a bootable rescue cd:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=276920&postcount=26

    It works perfectly but I still have some old Ghost backup files and we are using Symantec Ghost at work so I want to add Ghost recovery disc in the rescue cd.

    I'm using BCDW v2.0a1.
    Here is a part of the bcdw.ini file:
    Code:
    [MenuItems]
    
    C:\				; Boot from drive C:
    \ACRONIS\AcronisMedia.iso	; Acronis True Image Rescue Media
    \GHOST\ghost.iso		; Ghost Recovery
    :PowerOff			; Power Off
    Acronis load perfectly but Ghost doesn't...
    It says:

    Code:
    Loading Ghost...
    Bad command or file name
    I even tried to save the boot information to a file called ghost.WBT

    Can someone help me to make it working please?
     
  2. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    I'm going to take a wild guess here because I've never used BCDW, but it looks like it's Linux-based and Linux names are case-sensitive.

    Are you sure that the path and filename for Ghost is as-shown in your post? Is it \GHOST\ghost.iso or is it \GHOST\Ghost.iso?
     
  3. killuminati

    killuminati Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    it's \GHOST\ghost.iso
     
  4. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    I initially thought that the error message shown was being generated by BCDW, thus my guess on filename case.

    If the file is named ghost.iso then the error message, since it uses a capital G in Ghost, must be generated by the Ghost program itself, so it must mean that Ghost is unable to find some file that it is looking for.

    I don't know what that means but to troubleshoot further I would probably try to burn the iso image ghost.iso to a CD all by itself to see if it will work.
     
  5. killuminati

    killuminati Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I did it and it works without any problem. I only get the error with BCDW o_O
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Do you have any other ISO files you could test on the setup?

    A BartPE ISO or another build of TI, for example. Just curious if those work or if only the first entry is working.
     
  7. killuminati

    killuminati Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I will try to add UBCD v4.1.1 iso and tell you if that works
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.