Create bootable media

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by samper, Feb 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. samper

    samper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I am trying to create a bootable disk with TI 9.0 and everytime I do I get the following error: "error burning the bootable CD-R/ CD-RW". I can't find any detail on why it failed, just that error. Does TI have a built in writer? Do a need to have an additional program installed to be able to do it?
     
  2. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Hi samper,

    Yes, TI does have a built-in writer.

    Try temporarily disabling third party writing programs running in background first (like Roxio Drag-to Disk).

    If not enough, disable Windows' native writing tool too by right clicking on the CD drive -> Properties -> Recording -> uncheck Enable CD recording on this drive.

    If still no go, start the bootable CD creation procedure with an open empty drawer, insert a blank CD when prompted and click Proceed to make the drawer close automatically.
     
  3. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    What, exactly, are you writing to? Is it a CD, or a DVD?
     
  4. samper

    samper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks for the replies.

    bVolk, I don't have Roxio or any other program for burning installed. I disabled under my drive properties. When I click proceed, the drive doesn't close and I get the error right away.

    Weaz, I am writing to a Imation CD-R with the nec DVD+CDRW drive that came with my dell. I just updated to latest driver and still have the same problem.
     
  5. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Please don’t take this as an insult, but this JUST happened to one of my co-workers:
    Is the CD in right-side-up? The Imation CD-Rs we have do not have labeling of any kind on them to tell top from bottom.
     
  6. samper

    samper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Not insulted. Mine have labels, and they are in the correct way.
     
  7. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    OK, LOL, you should have seen the look on the guys face when I said "Here, try this ..." and flipped the CD over.:D
     
  8. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi samper,

    Seems odd that your CD/DVD drive doesn't respond when you try to close the drawer via TI's "Proceed" button. Boot your system into Windows SAFE mode and try creating the rescue CD again.

    Regards
     
  9. samper

    samper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    That worked! Thanks for your help.
     
  10. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi again sampler,

    Glad you managed to create the rescue CD using one of the well known workarounds. As to what caused the problem? Well, it's almost certain that there is an application/service running in the background that's preventing TI from taking control of your recorder. Booting Windows into SAFE mode will have bypassed that rogue program's startup.

    Regards
     
  11. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    I did create a bootable media and had to restore for the first time the system. Whatr made my tremble is that the full option didn't start on my notebook - is this a problem of the media or of the notebook - sagemode works though

    Ruben
     
  12. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    See II in the following link. It isn't a problem with your bootable CD, there is something that the linux version isn't compatible with in your notebook. If you aren't using USB devices you likely won't have a problem using safe mode. My desktop PC wouldn't run in Full mode but updating the BIOS (for other reasons) fixed it (it was 14 versions behind).


    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=55317
     
  13. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Ruben,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please boot your notebook from Acronis True Image rescue disc and press F11 key when the selection screen appears. After you get the "Linux kernel command line" prompt, please modify it in the following way:

    quiet acpi=off noapic , click on the OK button and choose "Full Version".

    If that does not help, please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please create an account, then log in and submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.