Crashes With Avira Prem.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by WilliamP, Aug 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,208
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Lately I have been crashing every once and awhile. It is being caused by Avira. I was wondering if I am the only one?
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,683
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Your the only one I've heard of here. At the Avira forum there may be others if your so inclined to check.
     
  3. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,638
    Can you explain what makes you think Avira is the cause?
     
  4. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,208
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I had been having some crashes on boot. I posted about them and someone told me about (Who Crashed) on replendence.com. It will tell you what caused the crash. When I posted here about Avira it said that Avira caused it. This morning I had another and it said it was Sandboxie. So who knows?
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,683
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    You may be having other problems with your system unrelated to your security software.
     
  6. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    and so?
    so you coulda given the name of any other sw installed on your pc, based on your "criteria". you could say sbie, or any other security sw.
    i really doubt that that problem of yours is related to avira av.
    and from what you said, i doubt that it's possible to define the source of that problem.
     
  7. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,208
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Wolf ,I think you are correct. I have Avira Prem ,SBIE. And Defense wall. Of course at boot Avira is the only one running.
     
  8. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,051
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    I would suggest running a quick memory test. It's easy and will save time and aggravation if a DIMM has failed. This happened to me once and I spent way too much time chasing after random bluescreens before thinking to suspect my hardware.
     
  9. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,638
    Well, sometimes it is really difficult to diagnose a situation, I can tell you for example that every 10-15 shutdowns my Vista computer crashes with a blue screen, and it is definitely related to Sandboxie and deleting the sandbox. Investigating further I'm now convinced that Sandboxie + Chrome 12 were responsible, as now with Chrome 13 it hasn't happened yet (keep my fingers crossed). Generally the main reason for such an occurrence is a conflict, which can be difficult to pinpoint the source. Sharing experiences can be very helpful.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.