Crashes With Avira Prem.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by WilliamP, Aug 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Lately I have been crashing every once and awhile. It is being caused by Avira. I was wondering if I am the only one?
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Your the only one I've heard of here. At the Avira forum there may be others if your so inclined to check.
     
  3. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Can you explain what makes you think Avira is the cause?
     
  4. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I had been having some crashes on boot. I posted about them and someone told me about (Who Crashed) on replendence.com. It will tell you what caused the crash. When I posted here about Avira it said that Avira caused it. This morning I had another and it said it was Sandboxie. So who knows?
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    You may be having other problems with your system unrelated to your security software.
     
  6. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    and so?
    so you coulda given the name of any other sw installed on your pc, based on your "criteria". you could say sbie, or any other security sw.
    i really doubt that that problem of yours is related to avira av.
    and from what you said, i doubt that it's possible to define the source of that problem.
     
  7. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Wolf ,I think you are correct. I have Avira Prem ,SBIE. And Defense wall. Of course at boot Avira is the only one running.
     
  8. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    I would suggest running a quick memory test. It's easy and will save time and aggravation if a DIMM has failed. This happened to me once and I spent way too much time chasing after random bluescreens before thinking to suspect my hardware.
     
  9. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Well, sometimes it is really difficult to diagnose a situation, I can tell you for example that every 10-15 shutdowns my Vista computer crashes with a blue screen, and it is definitely related to Sandboxie and deleting the sandbox. Investigating further I'm now convinced that Sandboxie + Chrome 12 were responsible, as now with Chrome 13 it hasn't happened yet (keep my fingers crossed). Generally the main reason for such an occurrence is a conflict, which can be difficult to pinpoint the source. Sharing experiences can be very helpful.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.